Follow Us:
Wednesday, November 25, 2020

From Purma Banerjee at Antwerp to Abhinav Bindra at Rio: List of flag bearers for India at Olympics opening ceremonies

Balbir Singh Sr has the rare honour of being India's flag bearer twice at the Summer Olympics. Abhinav Bindra gets that responsibility in Rio.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: August 6, 2016 12:40:11 am
Olympics opening ceremony, India flag bearer, india olympics flag bearer, india olympics flag bearers all time, olympics opening ceremony india, india olympics opening ceremony abhinav bindra, olympics Sushil Kumar led the Indian contingent at the London 2012 Olympics.

One of the most exciting aspect of any Olympic event is the opening ceremony. And in that, the parade of nations makes for an interesting affair with an entire nation watching to see which all athletes appear, to see their national flag be visible to all, and even what the athletes wear away from their respective sports.

At the parade, countries are called out based on their first letter in the host nation’s language. In India’s case, that won’t be a problem with no difference in Portuguese (Brazil’s official language). However United States would go much earlier than it did at the London Olympics (Estados Unidos).

India are likely to enter the arena at 9.37 PM local time (6.07 AM IST on Saturday) with a 29 second slot allotted.

For India, the flag bearer will be Olympic medallist from Beijing Abhinav Bindra. Bindra, competing in his fifth Olympics, was selected ahead of the likes of Yogeshwar Dutt, Vijender Singh and Leander Paes.

Athlete Purma Banerjee was the first Indian Olympian to become the flag bearer for the Indian contingent at the 1920 Olympics in Antwerp, Belgium. Since then, Balbir Singh Sr has carried the flag twice (1952 and 1956 Olympics) with athlete Shiny Abraham-Wilson becoming the first woman.

The entire list of flag bearers at Summer Olympics:

1920 – Purma Banerjee

1932 – Lal Shah Bhokhari

1936 – Major Dhyan Chand

1952 – Balbir Singh Sr.

1956 – Balbir Singh Sr.

1964 – Gurbachan Singh Randhawa

1972 – D.N. Devine Jones

1984 – Zafar Iqbal

1988 – Kartar Dhillon Singh

1992 – Shiny Abraham-Wilson

1996 – Pargat Singh

2000 – Leander Paes

2004 – Anju Bobby George

2008 – Rajyavardhan Rathore

2012 – Sushil Kumar

2016 – Abhinav Bindra

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.