Indian Railways to award Rs 1 cr to gold medallist from Rio

Indian Railways to award Rs 1 cr to gold medallist from Rio

Indian Railways will give Rs 1 cr to gold winners, silver medallist will get Rs 75 lakh and bronze winner Rs 50 lakh.

rio olympics, rio 2016, rio olympics 2016, olympics, indian railways, railways, india at rio, indian medals in india, sports, sports
There are 35 athletes from the Indian Railways who are participating in Rio Olympics. (Source: Reuters)

The Indian Railways on Friday announced a Rs 1 crore cash award for its athlete who wins a gold medal in the Rio Olympics.

In total, 35 athletes from Indian Railways will take part in the Summer Games.

“A share of 35 players and 6 Coaches from Indian Railway in Rio Olympics is a testimony to the effort that Railways has put in promoting and supporting sports in India,” the Indian Railways said in a statement.

The silver medallist will get Rs 75 lakh and bronze winner Rs 50 lakh. For the athletes who manages a top-8 finish, the reward will be Rs 30 lakh and for mere participation Rs 5 lakh.


“The contribution of coaches has also been acknowledged with a cash award of Rs.5 Lakh. In addition, those of Railway players with medal winning performances will be given posting in the Zonal Railway of their choice,” the release said.

“With the aim to further motivate the players to deliver their best , Minister of Railways Shri Suresh Prabhu has announced a bouquet of incentives for the Railway players viz promotions ,increments and cash awards. This includes promotions as Gazzetted officers for players getting upto 4th position; Out of turn promotions and special increments to the Railway athletes representing India in Rio,” it added.

Sportspersons participating in Rio Olympics-2016 from Indian Railways are: Archery: Laxmirani Majhi, L. Bombayla Devi, Athletics: Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put), Lalita Babar (3000m Steeplechase), Tintu Luka (800m), Sudha Singh (Marathon), O.P. Jaisha (Marathon), Khushbir Kaur (Walk), Dutee Chand (100m), Renjith Maheswary (Triple Jump), Lalit Mathur (4×400 M Relay); Boxing : Mr. Manoj Kumar (Boxing Men-64 Kg); Shooting: Ms. Ayonika Paul (10M Air Rifle); Wrestling: Hardeep Singh (Greeko-Roman), Vinesh Phogat and Sakshi Malik, Sajan Prakash (Swimming); Weightlifting:Sathish Sivalingam; Saikhom Mirabai Chanu, Hockey Men: Chinglensana Singh K. Apart from these athletes, 14 women players from Indian Railway in Indian hockey women’s team are: Renuka Yadav, Anuradha Devi T., Deep Grace Ekka, Deepika, Sunita Lakra, Sushila Chanu P., Navjot Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Lilima Minz, Poonam Rani, Monika, Nikki Pradhan, Namita Toppo.

It would be evident to mention that the Indian contingent will be mentored by 6 Indian Railway Coaches also who will show their acumen during the world’s largest sports event.

These are C.R. Kumar and Helen Mary (Hockey/Women), Kuldeep Malik (Wrestling/Women), Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting) and Jagdip Hooda (Boxing/Men).