Flag bearers of all nations in Rio Olympics opening ceremony 2016

Athletes from 207 nations will lead their countries forward in the traditional parade at the Olympic Games opening ceremony in Rio on August 5.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: August 5, 2016 10:45:03 am
Rio Olympics opening ceremony flag bearers, Olympics opening ceremony flag, Olympics flag opening ceremony, Olympics opening ceremony, nations parade Olympics, olympics news, olympics Sir Chris Hoy was host nation Great Britain’s flag bearer at the 2012 London Olympics. This time, Andy Murray has that honour. (Source: Reuters)

At each opening ceremony of an Olympic Games – Summer or Winter, an interesting and a moment of pride for the athletes is the parade. It involves the country’s designated flag bearer holding the flag at the top of the group and the rest of the contingent following closely behind – soaking in all the adulation of their peers, the audience and the people back home.

For the flag bearers, it’s a moment for their work towards their country to be appreciated at the grandest sporting event. For India, shooter Abhinav Bindra will be the flag bearer in his fifth Olympics with names of Yogeshwar Dutt, Leander Paes and Vijender Singh also considered at one stage.

ALSO READ | When is Rio Olympics opening ceremony 2016, what time does it start, live streaming online and live TV coverage

India are slated to enter the arena at 9.37 PM local time (6.07 AM on Saturday IST) and have been given a 29-second time slot.

Other big names to be flag bearers at the Rio Olympics opening ceremony 2016 include Michael Phelps for the US and Andy Murray for the Great Britain. In total, 207 countries are taking part in the Olympics and will parade their athletes at the opening ceremony excluding the refugees and independent athletes.

Afghanistan – Kamia Yousufi

Andorra – Laura Salles

Angola – Luísa Kiala

Argentina – Luis Scola

Armenia – Vahan Mkhitaryan

Australia – Anna Meares

Austria – Liu Jia

Bangaldesh – Siddikiur Rahman

Belarus – Vasil Kiryienka

Belize – Brandon Jones

Benin – Yemi Apithy

Bolivia -Angela Castro

Brazil – Yane Marques

British Virgin Islands – Ashley Kelly

Bulgaria – Ivet Lalova

Cambodia – Sorn Seavmey

Cameroon – Wilfried Ntsengue

Canada – Rosannagh MacLennan

Chile – Érika Olivera

China – Lei Sheng

Cook Islands – Ella Nicholas

Costa Rica – Nery Brenes

Croatia – Josip Pavić

Cuba- Mijaín López

Denmark – Caroline Wozniacki

Equador- Andres Chocho

Finland – Tuuli Petaja-Siren

France – Teddy Rinner

Gambia – Gina Bass

Gautemala – Ana Sofía Gómez

Germany – Timo Boll

Great Britain – Andy Murray

Greece – Sofia Bekatorou

Hungary – Áron Szilagyi

India – Abhinav Bindra

Indonesia – Maria Natalia Londa

Iran – Zahra Nemati

Ireland – Paddy Barnes

Israel – Neta Rivkin

Italy – Federica Pellegrini

Jamaica – Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce

Japan – Keisuke Ushiro

Kosovo- Majlinda Kelmendi

Lebanon – Nacif Elias

Malaysia – Lee Chong Wei

Maldives – Aminath Shajan

Malta – Andrew Chetcuti

Mauritius – Kate Foo Kune

Mexico – Daniela Campuzano

Montennegro – Bojana Popović

Namibia – Jonas Junia

Nepal – Phupu Lhamu Khatri

Nigeria – John Obi Mikel

Pakistan – Shah Hussain Shah

Panama – Alonso Edward

Philippines – Ian Lariba

Poland – Karol Bielecki

Portugal – Joao Rodrigues

Puerto Rico – Jaime Espinal

Romania – Cătălina Ponor

Russian Federation – Sergey Tetyukhin

San Marino – Arianna Perilli

Serbia – Ivana Anđusic Maksimovic

Singapore – Derek Wong Zi Liang

South Africa – Wayde van Niekerk

South Korea – Gu Bon-gil

Spain – Rafael Nadal

Sri Lanka – Anuradha Cooray

Thailand – Ratchanok Intanon

Tonga – Pita Taufatofua

Tuvalu – Etimoni Timuani

UAE – Nada Al-Bedwawi

Ukraine- Mykola Milchev

Uruguay – Dolores Moreira

USA – Michael Phelps

Venezuela – Ruben Limardo

Zimbabwe – Kirsty Coventry

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App