India Tour of Sri Lanka 2017

India Tour of Sri Lanka 2017

For the first time in eight years, India will be touring Sri Lanka for a full series. Back in 2009, India played a series in Sri Lanka with matches of all three formats but it has not done the same since then. Virat Kohli will now lead the Indian team for a tour that will have three-match Test series, five match one-day international series and one off T20 international. The tour begins with India playing their first Test on July 26.

India will play the first Test against Sri Lanka at the Galle international stadium which will be followed by the second Test in Colombo beginning August 3. The third and final Test will be in Pallekele, Kandy from August 12.

The one-day international series will see five matches with the first being played in Dambulla international stadium on August 20. The teams then travel to Pallekele, Kandy for the second and third ODIs which will be played on August 24 and August 27 respectively. After a three-day break both teams will travel to Colombo for the final leg of the one-day international series. The fourth match will be played on August 30 while the final ODI will be held on September 3. The two teams will play a one-off T20 international on September 6 at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Two years ago, India traveled to Sri Lanka for the a three-match Test series. This was the first Test series in which Kohli was the captain but it did not start on a good note as India lost the first Test. But, the team made a comeback in the second and third Test to win both the games and series 2-1.

The current series will be important for India as this is the first assignment for new head coach Ravi Shastri and his support staff. He took charge of the team after Anil Kumble decided to step down owing to differences with captain Kohli.


View All