Cricket World Cup 2019 Teams

Gulbadin Naib alleges senior Afghanistan players deliberately underperformed in World Cup: Reports

Afghanistan finished their World Cup campaign with no wins and nine losses, the worst record among all the ten teams.

England winning World Cup was ‘written in the stars’, says Jos Buttler

"I did feel sorry for the New Zealanders but at the same time I was so happy that wasn't us. It was written in the stars. It was destiny for us as a team," said Jos Buttler.

Kumar Dharmasena admits umpiring error in World Cup final, doesn’t ‘regret’ decision

"We did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time," Kumar Dharmasena said.

No defining moment that suggests England deserved World Cup, says skipper Eoin Morgan

"I'm not sure winning it makes it any easier," Eoin Morgan said. "A little bit [troubled], because there's no defining moment that you'd say: 'Yes, we thoroughly deserved it.' It's just been crazy."

Senior India cricketer under scanner for flouting ‘family clause’ during World Cup

It has come to light that a senior India player's wife stayed with him for the entire seven-week duration of the World Cup without seeking permission from either the captain or the coach. Players were stipulated to not stay with their partners for more than 15 days during the World Cup.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to start from May 30, with hosts England locking horns with South Africa in the tournament opener. Team India will begin their campaign against South Africa on June 5, while defending champions will take on minnows Afghanistan in their opening fixture. Unlike the previous editions, this time the World Cup will be played in a round-robin format, which means that all the participating nations will go head to head against each other. The format was last used in the 1992 World Cup, which was won by Pakistan.