Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 08, 2020
Tripura election results 2018 LIVE Updates:

Tripura Election Results 2018 highlights: BJP-IPFT alliance drubs Left, PM says democracy has won in state

March 4, 2018 6:00:27 pm

Here are the highlights on Tripura Assembly Election Results 2018: The saffron party inflicted a humiliating defeat on the Left Front which had never faced such a situation even when it had lost power in 1988 to the Congress-Tripura Upajati Juba Samity combine.

Red Or Saffron: Winner of Tripura’s Battle Of Ideology Today

Red or Saffron: Winner of Tripura’s battle of ideology today

March 3, 2018 8:51:07 am

Considered the first true test for the Left Front government of 25 years in the state — 20 of which saw Chief Minister Manik Sarkar at the helm — this assembly election was more than just about ideology.

Tripura Election Results 2018: All you need to know

March 3, 2018 7:38:19 am

Tripura Election Results 2018: All you need to know: Propelled by the Congress whose seven MLAs defected to the BJP in the run-up to the elections, it has emerged as the main challenger for the Left.

Over 90 per cent votes cast in Tripura

Over 90 per cent votes cast in Tripura re-poll

February 26, 2018 9:49:48 pm

The CPI(M) had earlier raised questions on the neutrality of the state election department, claiming that re-polling was ordered only in those constituencies where the ruling Left Front had clear winning prospects.

Tripura Assembly elections: EC orders repolling in six booths, CPI(M) fumes

February 23, 2018 8:35:01 pm

The EC ordered repolling in one polling booth of six Assembly constituencies including Dhanpur which is the home turf of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar since 1998.

tripura polls, voter turnout, election commission, tripura assembly elections 2018, north east polls, indian express

Tripura Assembly elections: 89.8 per cent voter turnout recorded, says EC

February 19, 2018 9:47:15 pm

Tripura: Polling continued till 12-30 am last night in many booths and so, the final polling percentage was not available on Sunday, state Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti told reporters in Agartala.

Tripura Assembly elections: 78 per cent voter turnout, BJP hopes to make inroads in red bastion for 25 years

February 19, 2018 6:49:21 am

The voter turnout was 78.5 per cent. Additional Chief Electoral Officer Tapas Ray said there were problems with EVMs and VVPATs in a number of polling booths.

tripura polls, voter turnout, election commission, tripura assembly elections 2018, north east polls, indian express

Tripura elections: Chorus among first-time voters, say want change

February 19, 2018 6:50:41 am

Moumita Gupta, an SFI activist, said, "This time the BJP should form the government. It’s not because the Left hasn’t given us anything or that they haven’t done their job. It’s just that I feel that Tripura is being left way behind."

74 pc polling in Tripura assembly elections: EC

Tripura assembly elections: Over 78 per cent voter turnout till 9 pm, no untoward incident reported, says EC

February 18, 2018 9:38:50 pm

Tripura assembly elections: The state is crucial for the Left, which is its last bastion in the country, with Manik Sarkar’s 25-year rule facing a sort of referendum this election.

Tripura Assembly elections: 23.25% polling recorded till 11am, voters divided between BJP, CPM

February 18, 2018 12:01:37 pm

"We have seen what is happening across the country with Muslims being killed, with the gaurakshaks and I believe that Muslims will one day not even be able to read the namaaz. This election is especially important to us," said one of the voters.

Tripura polls 2018 LIVE: 78.56% turnout till 9 pm, voting still underway

February 18, 2018 9:26:49 pm

The turnout is likely to increase as a large number of people were still standing in queues even after the voting hours were over. Polling will continue till 9pm.

Tripura goes to polls today, all eyes on 20 CPM-held tribal seats

Tripura goes to polls today, all eyes on 20 CPM-held tribal seats

February 18, 2018 7:11:24 am

Tripura assembly elections 2018: 307 candidates in the fray for 59 constituencies; BJP banks on its tribal ally

Tripura assembly elections 2018, Tripura polls, assembly elections Tripura, Tripura Vote, North East India News, Indian Express, Indian Express News

Tripura assembly elections 2018: A look at two ground soldiers and how they carried red, saffron flags

February 18, 2018 3:33:35 am

Just down the road from her home lives Sushmita Saha's counterpart from the ruling party. Sadhan Das, 28, a full-time CPI(M) worker, is looking after booth 5 with 16 “seniors” and four “juniors”. CPI(M) booth in-charges like him are simply called "paara committee", or "neighbourhood committee"

kerala man kills self, kerala expatriate, cpi youth wing, india news

Tripura votes today: CPM seeks to retain power, BJP poses tough fight; all you need to know

February 18, 2018 8:02:14 am

About 297 candidates, including 20 women, are in the fray for the elections to the 60-member assembly. Can Manik Sarkar hold on to the Left's last citadel?

Tripura goes to polls tomorrow, BJP the main challenger

February 17, 2018 1:17:05 pm

The Congress is going it alone in Tripura this time and will contest in 59 seats. The party has not fielded any candidate for Kakrabon constituency in Gomati district.

Rahul Gandhi tripura election rally live updates

Tripura elections 2018 LIVE UPDATES: Rahul Gandhi attacks PM Modi for making ‘false promises’

February 16, 2018 4:11:36 pm

Tripura elections 2018 LIVE UPDATES: Rahul's visit comes a day after PM Narendra Modi's election rally in the state where he accused the Left's Manik Sarkar government of blocking development in the state and called for “uprooting” the Communists.

Tripura assembly elections: In CM Manik Sarkar’s Red fort, CPM wary of BJP

February 16, 2018 10:49:48 am

Accuse each other of creating tension; BJP loses Muslim members but its push visible across constituency

PM Narendra Modi in Tripura: We will win and uproot last red flag

PM Narendra Modi in Tripura: We will win and uproot last red flag

February 16, 2018 8:55:09 am

“No Indian Prime Minister in the history of the country has ever received the kind of love which I have received from the people of Tripura,” PM Modi said.

Election to Tripura’s Charilam Assembly seat on March 12: Chief Electoral Officer

February 15, 2018 12:58:32 pm

Regular poll schedule in the ST reserved Charilam Assembly constituency in Sipahijala district was cancelled after the death of the candidate, Taranikanti told reporters here last evening.

CPM govt has ruined Tripura by turning ganatantra into a 'Gun Tantra': PM Modi

CPM govt has ruined Tripura by turning ganatantra into a ‘Gun Tantra’: PM Modi

February 15, 2018 6:42:18 pm

In his first visit to Arunachal Pradesh post the Doklam standoff with China last year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said in a departure from the past, more ministers and officials from the Centre were visiting the north-east regularly.