Follow Us:
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
The Neighbor's Window
The Neighbors’ Window review: When we were young

Written and directed by Marshall Curry, The Neighbors’ Window is based on a true story by Diane Weipert. And while many details are missing from the film, like we don’t know what Alli does, or what her husband’s name is, it doesn’t really matter. We watch enchanted, just like Alli.

Fantasy Island film review
February 14, 2020 5:01:47 pm

Fantasy Island movie review: The whole premise of Fantasy Island is what would happen if people got second chances. The only good ending would be if the film didn't get one.

World Famous Lover review
February 15, 2020 8:28:13 am

World Famous Lover review: World Famous Lover is not a cheesy romantic story about a man hurting from inside and fighting to win back the love of his life. It is an indictment of the male gaze that fails to see the other side of the story: women.

Oh My Kadavule movie review
February 15, 2020 8:45:48 am

Oh My Kadavule review: This Ashok Selvan and Ritika Singh film largely works because of the fantasy spin and the fun treatment to the subject matter—but the writing is problematic.

Love Aaj Kal movie review
February 15, 2020 8:25:20 am

Love Aaj Kal 2 movie review: Kartik desperately tries to act as a lover in back-then-Udaipur-and-right-now-Delhi, but the effort doesn’t translate into anything true. Sara is perky and alive.

to all the boys ps i still love you movie review
February 12, 2020 7:32:46 am

To All the Boys 2 PS I Still Love You movie review: The film deals with the idea that it is possible to fall for multiple people simultaneously. While this idea of loving two people at once is mature, the plot and characters are not.

Seeru movie review
February 7, 2020 9:38:22 pm

Seeru movie review: Jiiva tries too hard in this utterly disappointing film.

Vaanam Kottattum review
February 17, 2020 3:31:21 pm

Vaanam Kottattum review: Sarathkumar, Radikaa and Vikram Prabhu star in a film that needed better writing.

Little Women movie review
February 8, 2020 8:23:26 am

Little Women movie review: Writer-director Greta Gerwig gets right to the heart of it, capturing the small, everyday rebellions of the story set in the 1860s, and making it as current as it was 150 years ago.

Jaanu movie review
February 8, 2020 8:44:32 am

Jaanu review: Jaanu did not pull me in by surprise like the original Tamil movie. It felt like I was sitting in a revision class. But, I am thankful that the remake did not dishonour the memory of 96.

birds of prey movie review
February 8, 2020 8:47:03 am

Birds of Prey movie review: Margot Robbie, who stuns with how she can go from mania to tragedy in the blink of an eye, doesn’t really need the help of all that colour and wide-lipped grin to get your attention.

Malang review
February 8, 2020 8:45:58 am

Malang movie review: Mohit Suri’s cinematic universe is routinely dark and twisted, and in his best work, his characters have been edgy and interesting. But Malang’s twists don’t really take you aback, and the identity of one of the perpetrators is more of an eye-roll than anything else.

shikara movie review
February 8, 2020 9:13:41 am

Shikara movie review: Shikara takes vague jabs at setting the context. We get throwaway remarks about ‘not being able to gather because of Section 144’, ‘elections not being free and fair’, ‘India chale jaao’. We see militancy being encouraged and supported from across the border, but nothing goes deeper.

The Gentlemen review
January 31, 2020 6:55:54 pm

Hugh Grant is so different that he takes you by surprise, Colin Farrell hams it with a dizzyingly dulled down wardrobe, while Charlie Hunnam has the meatiest lines and part. Matthew McConaughey looks simply bored, as if too good for a role whose only requirement is having fun.

Parasite review
February 10, 2020 10:20:19 am

Parasite movie review: Bong Joon-Ho, who has also co-written the story, has several surprises and twists up his sleeve. And many metaphors.

Jojo Rabbit movie review
February 1, 2020 8:26:21 am

Jojo Rabbit review: Jojo Rabbit, of course, is about the gradual friendship between Elsa and Jojo. But it is how Taika Waititi tackles this, mocking the narratives we build about people (any people) different (any different) from us, that makes this special.

Jawaani Jaaneman movie review
February 1, 2020 8:24:12 am

Jawaani Jaaneman movie review: A little more consistency with the writing, and a re-upping of the fun-meter would have made Jawaani Jaaneman super. As it is, it is fun while it lasts.

Psycho review
January 27, 2020 7:04:24 pm

Psycho movie review: Psycho, starring Udhayanidhi Stalin, Nithya Menen and Aditi Rao Hydari, is part psychological thriller, part social commentary.

Disco Raja review
January 24, 2020 5:32:55 pm

Disco Raja movie review: Disco Raja is such a welcome relief for cine-goers who want to watch a Ravi Teja film without getting brain-fried.

Street Dancer 3D, Street Dancer 3D review, Street Dancer 3D movie review, Street Dancer 3D film review, Street Dancer review, Street Dancer movie review, Street Dancer film review
January 25, 2020 1:50:47 pm

Street Dancer 3D film review: The real trouble is that the dances are so seen-it-before, so-not-exciting.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement