Follow Us:
Monday, June 27, 2022

Karnataka Elections Constituencies List 2018

Karnataka will vote on May 12 in a single-phased poll to elect its new assembly and the results will be declared on May 15. The tenure of the 224-member Legislative Assembly will expire on May 28 in the state where the Congress is currently in power with 122 seats against the BJP’s 43. The forthcoming elections have become a matter of prestige for the two national parties as the BJP is looking to regain ground in this crucial southern state and it is the only big state the Congress is in power now. While the Congress has announced incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah to lead the party’s charge, the BJP is projecting former CM BS Yeddyurappa as its face. Of the 224 assembly segments across the state, 173 are general, 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes. The pre-poll alliance between the Janata Dal Secular (JDS) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have created a noteworthy third front in Karnataka and can certainly have an impact on the forthcoming election results. The 2008 assembly election in Karnataka was won by BJP comfortably with 110 seats, whereas the 2013 assembly election was swept by the Congress, who won 122 seats.