Vikram S Mehta

The writer is the chairman of Brookings India and senior fellow, Brookings Institution.

Over The Barrel: Because the business of business isn’t just business
Mon, Jun 04, 2018

Pooling Corporate Social Responsibility funds will facilitate sharing of experiences, reduce duplication of efforts and facilitate a geographically equitable distribution of resources.

Let’s not slip again
Mon, May 07, 2018

Why government must not ask public sector outfits to bear burden of high oil price regime

The unlikely bulwark
Mon, Apr 02, 2018

The much-maligned bureaucracy has become a hurdle in the way of populist misadventure

Over The Barrel: The fourth political revolution?
Mon, Mar 05, 2018

A new political model is needed that is more responsive to changes being wrought by forces of globalisation, technology, humanity.

New era, old budget
Mon, Feb 05, 2018

The absence of energy from the finance minister’s script showcased a larger disconnect

Over The Barrel: An energy agenda for 2018
Mon, Jan 01, 2018

Ten challenges the government must look in the eye in the new year.

An uncertain energy future
Mon, Dec 04, 2017

India’s renewable energy targets are too ambitious. It will have to make choices and trade-offs

The new oil game
Mon, Nov 06, 2017

China is showing increasing interest in the Middle East. India must track its moves

Over the Barrel: A Russian acquisition
Mon, Oct 02, 2017

What are the geopolitical implications of the sale of Essar Oil to Rosneft, given the deepening of energy relations between China and Russia?

Over the barrel: Energy needs inspiration
Mon, Sep 04, 2017

Socio-political and economic realities do not favour the prospects of renewables. Policy-makers need to think out of the box.

A patchy green
Mon, Aug 07, 2017

Draft national energy policy falls short of striking a sustainable balance, or clarifying lines of accountability

Over the barrel: An energy warning and lesson
Mon, Jul 03, 2017

Developments in Australia and Qatar highlight India’s need to diversify sources and develop an integrated systems approach to planning

Over The Barrel: A note to the class of 2017
Mon, Jun 05, 2017

They must work to stanch the anger that has thrown up leaders like Trump. Their focus should not be the individual, but systemic causes

Over the barrel: Oil more slippery
Mon, May 01, 2017

Caught between forecasts of growing demand and geopolitical uncertainty, the oil market is increasingly difficult to interpret

Over The Barrel: Democrat’s dilemma
Mon, Apr 03, 2017

The Uttar Pradesh election has placed the Prime Minister in a position of rare strength. Will he use the space he has created for himself to be a statesman or fall prey to hubris?

A sentinel’s censure
Mon, Mar 06, 2017

The latest collection of P. Chidambaram’s articles is an indictment of India’s evolution as a liberal democracy

Over the barrel: Prepare for an oil change
Mon, Feb 06, 2017

India hasn’t yet joined the global move towards clean energy. But for how long can it hold out?

Finding the sync
Mon, Jan 02, 2017

Last year raised questions over relevance of liberal democratic processes, called for a review

Over the barrel: The case for an energy ombudsman
Mon, Dec 05, 2016

A new department with executive authority will ensure energy sector is reinvigorated

Over the barrel: A swadeshi index
Mon, Nov 07, 2016

World Bank rankings on ease of doing business ignore the complexity of the Indian landscape. An indigenous framework is needed.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement