scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 08, 2021

Soli J. Sorabjee

The writer is a former attorney general of India.

Election reflections
Sun, Mar 11, 2012

Recent State elections are a tribute to our electorate.

Proposed changes in Muslim Personal Law
Sun, Feb 26, 2012

These two features of Muslim Personal Law were some of the sticking points to the enactment of Uniform Civil Code as contemplated by Article 44 of the Directive Principles of our Constitution.

Intolerable intolerance
Sun, Feb 12, 2012

Arnold Toynbee’s delightful book,Acquaintances,has the following passage: “Gandhi’s and Nehru’s India was a tolerant India”

Bigotry prevails at Jaipur festival
Sun, Jan 29, 2012

Ultimately Salman Rushdie did not or could not attend the Jaipur Literature Festival

Developments in Pakistan
Sun, Jan 15, 2012

Developments in Pakistan are perturbing.

Lokpal Drama
Sun, Jan 01, 2012

People were happy about the introduction of the much awaited Lokpal legislation in the Lok Sabha

Afzal Guru Hanged
Afzal Guru debate
Sun, Dec 18, 2011

The recent debate about the execution of Afzal Guru manifested misunderstanding about mercy petitions.

Timely judicial admonition
Sun, Dec 04, 2011

Of late,the judiciary has become fair game for scandalous allegations

Workmen’s Judicial Victory
Sun, Nov 20, 2011

When a company is declared sick or goes in liquidation,the persons most affected are the employees.

Justice with compassion
Sun, Nov 06, 2011

The plight of victims of road accidents is horrific. A majority of them are ordinary pedestrians,women and children and illiterate persons.

Innovative speedy justice
Sun, Oct 23, 2011

Our Supreme Court has elevated right to speedy justice to a fundamental right under Article 21 of the Constitution.

US-Pak brittle friendship
Sun, Oct 09, 2011

US-Pak relations are in a critical state.

Spectre of Pakistani Nukes
Sun, Sep 25, 2011

Every right thinking person desires a stable Pakistan which is vital for its own security and security of the region.

Delhi High Court blast
Sun, Sep 11, 2011

The bomb blast at Delhi High Court has generated various theories about its occurrence,the suspects behind the blast,the failure of intelligence,et. al.

The bewildering saga of Anna Hazare
Sun, Aug 28, 2011

At present,the most urgent matter is to ensure that 74-year-old Annaji who has rendered yeoman service by galvanising the nation in the battle against corruption remains with us.

Mercy petitions
Sun, Aug 14, 2011

The mercy petition of Afzal Guru has at long last been rejected by the government.

Remember the big picture
Tue, Aug 09, 2011

Why we must resist the impulse to ban?

Lokpal impasse
Sun, Jul 31, 2011

Two major points of difference have arisen about the proposed Lokpal legislation: Inclusion of the Prime Minister and the higher judiciary in the purview of the Lokpal.

Cabinet reshuffle
Sun, Jul 17, 2011

Gambling is an abiding human instinct.

Barring criminals from elections
Sun, Jul 03, 2011

It is a statutory right and hence its exercise can be qualified by relevant conditions.

Fasting virus
Sun, Jun 19, 2011

Of late it has become fashionable for our netas to embark upon fasts unto death until their demands are conceded by the government.

Meeting the Dalai Lama
Sun, Jun 05, 2011

My first visit to Dharamsala last May was a unique experience. The highlight was the audience His Holiness the Dalai Lama was pleased to give me. His very presence was elevating.

Post bin Laden tremors
Sun, May 22, 2011

Certain facts about the US military action in Abbottabad are well established

It’s in the numbers
Fri, May 20, 2011

On Governor Bhardwaj’s reluctance to convene the House

Osama: The hunt ends
Osama bin Laden Conundrums
Sun, May 08, 2011

The foremost question in the bin Laden episode is whether Pakistan was really unaware of Osama living for years in his mansion at Abbottabad not far from its capital Islamabad?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement