scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, September 27, 2020

Saritha Rai

Saritha Rai is a contributing editor based in Bangalore. She was formerly the business writer in India for The New York Times, and before that the tech writer in South Asia for TIME Asia.  She is currently a contributing editor at Forbes Asia, writes an India blog on Forbes.com,  a monthly column for CBS Interactive on India’s tech industry, and a column on social change in India for NYTimes.com.  Rai has a degree in journalism from Bangalore University and was a Knight Fellow at Stanford University.

Why Siddaramaiah needs to worry
Mon, Sep 22, 2014

Weighed down by internal bickering, the Congress will find it tough to meet the BJP’s challenge in Karnataka.

And now for the brain gain
Sat, Sep 06, 2014

India needs to create the bandwidth to absorb the best of the returnees.

When citizen remakes the city
Mon, Aug 25, 2014

Citizen groups are chipping away at Bangalore’s urban chaos, one street corner at a time.

Kirana store as neighbourhood bank
Fri, Aug 15, 2014

Banking paraphernalia required for this ‘micro ATM’: a smart phone, a small biometric fingerprint reader and a tiny printer.

The fifth Metro letter from Bangalore: Science of giving
Tue, Aug 12, 2014

Philanthropy for medical research in India has been insignificant — until now.

An old programme, a new chapter
Mon, Jul 28, 2014

Nilekani’s efforts to convince the NDA of Aadhaar’s benefits appear to have paid off.

A force for tech-savviness
Mon, Jul 14, 2014

Bangalore police is trying not to let its lack of numbers show.

Coimbatore to Shillong, startup hotline has entrepreneurs buzzing
Mon, Jul 07, 2014

For now, India’s startup ecosystem is miles behind global hotspots such as Silicon Valley, Tel Aviv and Beijing.

App and the city
Mon, Jun 23, 2014

Technology-based solutions can help sort out urban challenges like waste management, water disposal

Infosystem reboot
Sun, Jun 15, 2014

Vishal Sikka may just provide the shake-up Infosys needs as it seeks to climb to its former position.

Garden city, garbage city
Mon, Jun 09, 2014

Trash management is reaching a critical point in Bangalore.

First tech de-addiction clinic opens; experts see ‘tip of iceberg’
Sun, Jun 01, 2014

Parents come in at Nimhans centre in Bangalore saying teens showing academic decline or withdrawing from family.

First tech de-addiction clinic opens, experts say ‘tip of iceberg’
Sat, May 31, 2014

Parents seeking treatment for their teenagers’ compulsive dependence on social networks, texting and mobile games.

Listen to Bangalore
Tue, May 20, 2014

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah needs to focus on urban infrastructure and growth.

The fifth metro: To save a lake
Tue, May 13, 2014

A new study on the Dal Lake could point the way in dealing with ecological challenges

The fifth metro: Aloof in Bangalore
Mon, Apr 21, 2014

The low turnout, despite the striking array of candidates, reveals a disengaged electorate.

Helipads change Bangalore skyscape, but can’t take off
Sun, Apr 20, 2014

86 at last count, helipads atop buildings are hosting dinners till they receive the all-clear.

Mix it like Manipal
Sun, Apr 06, 2014

A private engineering college on India’s southwest coast has suddenly come into the limelight.

Elections 2014
Rohini, Nandan’s ‘secret weapon’
Fri, Apr 04, 2014

Rohini says her husband has the support of not just core Congress workers but others too. “

Elections 2014
The IT factor: High-tech campaigns of high-profile candidates
Sun, Mar 23, 2014

The Sunday Express follows high-tech campaigns as tech billionaires wade into the rough and tumble of politics.

Elections 2014
Kejriwal’s two dinners, AAP looks at Rs 50 lakh in kitty
Sat, Mar 15, 2014

The actual fundraiser is the brainchild of a Bangalore-based group, Well Wishers of Aam Aadmi Party.

Elections 2014
The unfinished makeover of Nandan
Tue, Mar 11, 2014

The former Infosys CEO is remodelling himself as a son of the middle class.

Women on board
Sat, Feb 22, 2014

There are signs that large companies are beginning to see the need for gender diversity

Membership trickle turns flood after Delhi AAPswing
Thu, Jan 09, 2014

The party is yet to collate the number of applicants seeking a ticket for the Lok Sabha elections.

Candidate Nilekani
Thu, Jan 09, 2014

Assigning an Aadhaar number to 1.2 billion Indians may turn out to be the smaller challenge

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement