scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Monday, September 28, 2020

Saritha Rai

Saritha Rai is a contributing editor based in Bangalore. She was formerly the business writer in India for The New York Times, and before that the tech writer in South Asia for TIME Asia.  She is currently a contributing editor at Forbes Asia, writes an India blog on Forbes.com,  a monthly column for CBS Interactive on India’s tech industry, and a column on social change in India for NYTimes.com.  Rai has a degree in journalism from Bangalore University and was a Knight Fellow at Stanford University.

Eye 2015
How to win friends and influence people: Small towns are now warming up to life coaches
Sun, Jul 05, 2015

From getting help for procrastination to coming to terms with being average, small towns are now warming up to life coaches.

Maggi controversy
Fifth Metro- Without Maggi: Its absence leaves a huge hole in the lives of middle-class working women
Mon, Jun 22, 2015

Maggi became a huge hit when time became a scarce commodity in urban India.

Fifth Metro: Coronation in Mysore
Mon, Jun 01, 2015

Its new ‘monarch’ could step up to engage with the city’s challenges.

Fifth Metro: Coming to terms with modernity
Tue, May 19, 2015

Sections of society are still unable to keep pace with rapid changes in urban Indian life.

Eye 2015
Code, work, fun: Rohan Murty on why he doesn’t consider work as ‘work’
Sun, May 03, 2015

For someone who does not consider work as ‘work’, all Rohan Murty needs to unwind is a bit of song and dance.

Fifth Metro: Bangalore, 1, 2, 3
Mon, Apr 27, 2015

Karnataka chief minister has seized control of the state’s biggest and richest civic body.

In TRAI inbox, a million messages in support of net neutrality
Thu, Apr 23, 2015

Save The Internet campaign creates record as people flood TRAI with emails.

The Fifth Metro: War of the chief ministers
Mon, Apr 13, 2015

Andhra Pradesh’s Chandrababu Naidu is taking on Karnataka’s Siddaramaiah in a bid to woo the IT industry to his state

The Fifth Metro: Given by women, received by men
Mon, Mar 16, 2015

Economic, social and cultural factors combine with coercion to tilt kidney donation numbers against women.

Eye 2015
Women-only travel is one of the fastest growing segments in India
Sun, Mar 15, 2015

Women no longer hesitate in handling the challenges of travel. The internet allows women travellers to research and check out safe hotels and modes of travel.

‘I wear glasses, am not marriage material, won’t grow long hair’
Tue, Mar 03, 2015

Techie’s ‘matrimonial CV’ goes viral, most startling element was the way the words resonated with thousands of young women across the country.

The fifth metro: Malady map of India
Sun, Feb 22, 2015

Data from healthcare start-ups can help better address the country’s public health challenges.

The Fifth Metro: All wound up
Sun, Feb 08, 2015

Mental health problems are on the rise and yet the city turns away from them.

The Fifth Metro: The unravelling
Mon, Jan 26, 2015

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is mired in a land controversy. That’s not the Congress’s only problem

Bangalore gets humble auto-rickshaws on call as startups join mobile app race
Mon, Jan 19, 2015

Alongside their cab offerings, both Ola and TaxiForSure are now offering auto-rickshaws on call.

Engineering a Revolution
Mon, Jan 12, 2015

A Bangalore-based former engineering student is becoming an internet sensation with his rap video

The Fifth Metro: Found in translation
Tue, Jan 13, 2015

A new venture puts English renderings of ancient Indian texts within reach of Indian reader.

No payback, it’s pay it forward: Infy’s Generation Ex fuels dreams
Fri, Dec 19, 2014

Hundreds of former staff, including founders, look at funding start-ups.

The fifth metro: In another club
Mon, Dec 08, 2014

Days after ADGP Sharma was suspended by Bangalore Club, it was raided by officials of the state excise department, who cancelled its liquor licence.

In Japan, local students flock to Indian schools to learn English
Tue, Nov 25, 2014

Set to host Olympics in 2020, lack of fluency in English is a collective concern of govt, citizens.

The Fifth Metro: Doing IT differently
Mon, Nov 24, 2014

Why Zoho is a rule-breaker in India’s technology capital

The Fifth Metro: Clean it like Tokyo
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

In Japan, waste is not seen as dirty or disgusting. In the 1960s and 1970s, Tokyo’s government raised the status of its waste collectors.

In Japan, the old find a shelf life
Tue, Oct 28, 2014

From rows stacked with diapers to ‘gentle’ food for the elderly, supermarkets in Japan reflect the reality of a country that’s greying rapidly.

An exit that shows the way
Wed, Oct 22, 2014

A new generation of Indian entrepreneurs is looking to leaders like Murthy, Nilekani and Gopalakrishnan on how to do it right.

Look who’s splurging
Tue, Oct 07, 2014

The trademark austerity of southern India’s billionaires is fast disappearing.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement