Follow Us:
Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Ranjit Lal

Lal is an author, environmentalist and bird watcher.

The Vegans Are Coming
Sun, Jan 19, 2020

Or, what scares plants the most.

Voices in the Wilderness
Sun, Jan 12, 2020

Forest stalwarts remain unsung; we need to acknowledge what they do.

Bringing the World Home
Sun, Jan 05, 2020

Keeping a dog or cat as a pet needs to be made mandatory. When my sisters and I arm-twisted our parents into getting us our first dog, we had no idea what we were getting into, but it changed our lives forever.

Memories of Sambhar
Thu, Dec 19, 2019

The death-scarred lake once bristled with birds of all feathers

Down in Jungleland: Four Legs and Our Tongues
Sun, Dec 08, 2019

We use the names of animals derogatorily, but find it insulting if someone calls us by their names

Down In Jungleland: A Clean Bill of Health
Sun, Dec 01, 2019

Learning a thing or two about cleanliness from the animal world.

Down in Jungleland: Get Down and Dirty
Sun, Nov 24, 2019

Children learn to love nature only by stepping into the wild

Down in Jungleland: A thought on the environmental legacy we are burdening children with
Sun, Nov 17, 2019

Sixteen-year-olds today will be 17 next year, which will give the politicians just one more year to clean up their act.

Wild Himalaya book review: In High Places
Sun, Nov 17, 2019

Stephen Alter’s exhaustive biography of the Himalayas is an exceptional tribute to the world’s mightiest mountains

Hop, Skip and Jump
Sun, Nov 10, 2019

Of hares and cavorting bunnies.

Going Great Greta
Sun, Nov 03, 2019

What happens when teenagers behave like responsible adults?

Butterfly Effect
Sun, Oct 27, 2019

Moths get a raw deal but are nature’s wonders no less.

The gaze of the birdman
Sun, Oct 20, 2019

Salim Ali’s rigour in charting avifauna remains unparalleled.

Down in Jungleland
Sun, Oct 13, 2019

That life-changing moment of spotting a bird species for the first time and its lasting impact.

It’s a Make-Believe World
Sun, Oct 06, 2019

Of wildlife films and wild antics by wranglers for the camera.

It’s a Make-Believe World
Sun, Oct 06, 2019

Of wildlife films and wild antics by wranglers for the camera.

Down in Jungleland: Once Upon A Time in Aarey
Sun, Sep 22, 2019

Memories of the unspoiled beauty of Mumbai’s lakes and green lungs.

Down in Jungleland: Season of Scares
Sun, Sep 15, 2019

We are criminally neglectful in the way we behave around snakes.

Down In Jungleland: To Love and to Protect
Sun, Sep 08, 2019

Claws, teeth and wile — no holds are barred when defending territory and young ones in the wild.

Down in Jungleland: Hello, Sunshine
Sun, Sep 01, 2019

Why rely on alarm clocks, when you have the musical charms of the bulbul to begin the day with?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement