scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Friday, July 10, 2020

Kaushik Das Gupta

kaushik.dasgupta@expressindia.com

On the irresistible charms of chhole bhature
Fri, Mar 20, 2020

My determination to desist from deep-fried food faces an almost daily challenge from the golden bhatures that appear in every halwai shop in the neighbourhood and the sight of chhole brings memories of spices exploding into my mouth.

A glimpse into sweet-making, one of country’s oldest professions
Fri, Mar 06, 2020

Confectioners haven’t always received their due in the country’s food history.

Bon Appetit: A home-made drink that can give colas a run for their money
Thu, Feb 20, 2020

Kanji — the north-Indian drink made with the black carrots and helps digestion has a Turkish cousin.

Supriya Gandhi: ‘Difficult to call Dara Shukoh liberal or secular’
Thu, Feb 06, 2020

The historian on why modern concepts can’t be read into the past, history as battleground and her new book on a romanticised Mughal prince.

Bon Appétit! How I discovered Moradabadi biryani
Fri, Feb 07, 2020

Bad press and communal politics have done little to dent the popularity of the biryani

Explained: Poha, the flattened rice dish beloved of India
Wed, Jan 29, 2020

Across India, chivda as poha is a breakfast staple.

A perfect stuffing
Sun, Jan 19, 2020

A deep dive into the samosa in all its glory.

It’s Sweeter in the Cold
Thu, Jan 02, 2020

Delectable halwas make bitter winters more bearable.

Bon ApPÉtit! The joy of discovering naankhatais as a gift on Christmas
Thu, Dec 19, 2019

Hobson Jobson describes the naankhatai “as rich cakes in W. India chiefly imported into Bombay from Surat”.

The story of the humble bulb
Wed, Dec 11, 2019

As India tackles another onion price crisis, we trace its history of cultivation over 5,000 years and its inextricable link with the caste system in India

How my grandmother and neighbour got me to love vegetables
Sun, Dec 08, 2019

Warmth of winter greens as the sun plays hide and seek

We have to be more cautious in the ways we make sense of others: Malcolm Gladwell
Sun, Dec 08, 2019

Malcolm Gladwell, 56, on empathy, the fallouts of a breakdown in communication and his new book

From Babur to Jahangir, how the Mughal empire enriched Indian cuisine
Sun, Nov 24, 2019

How Mughal rule enriched Indian cuisines

Have you tasted air? Dive into Daulat ki chaat
Sun, Nov 03, 2019

Foam in the Mouth: The phrase, “hint of”, is often used in recipe books, but rarely does a dish do justice to this usage. Daulat ki chaat is one such dish.

The magic of the tandoor
Sun, Oct 20, 2019

How the tandoor has been a great caste leveller.

Eat, Pray, Love
Thu, Oct 03, 2019

The fragrance of festivity and mutton curry.

Eat, Pray, Love
Sun, Oct 06, 2019

The fragrance of festivity and mutton curry.

Bon Appétit! Head Start
Sun, Sep 15, 2019

Why the fish head gets pride of place in Bengali kitchens.

Bihar encephalitis deaths: Central team says heat wave key factor in outbreak
Thu, Sep 12, 2019

AES is an umbrella term for infections that cause swelling in the brain. Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, East Champaran, Sheohar and Sitamarhi were the worst-hit districts this time.

The English language’s absolute lack of creativity in naming fruits
Sun, Sep 01, 2019

On the odd English names of many tropical fruits.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement