Kapil Sibal

The writer, a senior Congress leader, is a former Union minister.

What the majority missed
Thu, Oct 04, 2018

Aadhaar judgment makes a disturbing distinction between the rights of the privileged and the poor.

Reform that isn’t
Thu, Sep 13, 2018

Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code showcases an NDA syndrome: Policies implemented without analysis.

The quality of justice
Wed, Jul 18, 2018

Justice Gogoi is right. The union of judiciary with executive is the greatest danger to democracy

Choreography of a break-up
Tue, Jun 26, 2018

It was scripted into coming together of BJP with PDP. In run-up to 2019, polarised J&K will add fuel to BJP fire.

His choice, his misstep
Tue, Jun 12, 2018

Pranab Mukherjee’s decision to address RSS meet in Nagpur need not perturb the Congress. He did not go there as a representative of the party.

What a governor must do
Tue, May 22, 2018

Kapil Sibal writes: Supreme Court must now address itself to protecting the institution from political machinations.

Look, who is talking about diminishing the authority of the judiciary
Thu, Apr 26, 2018

The suggestion that the Opposition is playing politics is laughable. The truth is the government is playing politics to ensure that there is no inquiry that will embarrass them.

Failing the law
Thu, Apr 05, 2018

In the last four years, the legal process has been turned into an instrument of oppression, threatening the principles of our republic.

A scam, the deeper rot
Tue, Feb 27, 2018

Politician-business-banker nexus makes bank lendings prone to corruption.

A mirage called equality
Fri, Jan 26, 2018

Wide disparities and shrinking freedoms mark the arduous journey of the republic.

A judicious warning
Sat, Jan 13, 2018

The Chief Justice of India is the Master of the Roster. He must also be accountable

Conspiracy of circumstances
Wed, Dec 27, 2017

With 2G verdict, Congress may claim a moral victory but it cannot get back what it lost.

Crime and callousness
Mon, Nov 20, 2017

In other jurisdictions, too, investigations have been found wanting where criminal acts acquire a political flavour. Justice, in all its manifestations, is essential if the culture of democracy is to flourish. Unbiased investigations are essential to delivering justice to the victims of crime.

Defamation, not at the cost of gagging free speech
Mon, Oct 30, 2017

The curtailment of an individual writer or author's freedom of speech and expression should never be lightly viewed. Any person who feels that his good name is being tarnished is entitled to vindicate himself by filing for damages. But to gag the press is illogical.

How the future was compromised
Sat, Oct 28, 2017

NPA crisis was accentuated by court judgments cancelling telecom licences and coal block allocations. An overzealous CAG, bloodthirsty media, myopic Opposition hurt India’s progress

What statistics don’t tell
Mon, Oct 16, 2017

NDA government promised to transform India in 60 months. Forty months down the road, the future looks bleak and bluffing through the jugglery of numbers continues.

Anatomy of a decline
Fri, Sep 29, 2017

Three and a half years have gone by and the economy slides unchecked

Rule of the ugly Indian
Mon, Sep 11, 2017

There is a waning of debate, dignity, justice. For vigilantes, “achhe din” are here.

My India Has Changed
Tue, Aug 15, 2017

It is under a regime that thrives on instilling fear, suppressing dissent

A hollow symbolism
Sat, Jul 01, 2017

BJP projects itself as pro-Dalit by making Ram Nath Kovind its presidential candidate. It won’t work

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement