Bibek Debroy

Bibek Debroy

The writer is chairman, Economic Advisory Council to the PM. Views are personal.

A justice more efficient
Thu, Jun 14, 2018

The Legal Information Management and Briefing System aims to improve Union government’s handling of cases. Its data can also be used to reduce litigation, declog the judicial system.

Eighteen to sixty-four
Thu, May 10, 2018

Eighteen to sixty-four should be the age range of the working population factored into policy, since enrolment in senior secondary school is rising.

The anatomy of equity
Wed, Apr 11, 2018

Debate around terms of reference of the 15th Finance Commission ignores the evolution of constitutional mechanisms for devolution of public finance.

The Great Indian Epic Trick
Sat, Mar 31, 2018

It is meaningless to seek clear and present evil in the Mahabharata, where every incident offers a conflict of dharma. There is no black or white

Much ado about an impractical idea
Thu, Mar 22, 2018

Attempts to legislate schemes akin to Universal Basic Income failed in 18th and 19th century England. In China, too, they haven’t succeeded.

Diamonds aren’t forever
Thu, Mar 08, 2018

The price of the precious stone has little connection to its use value or marginal utility.

I’d rather be a sparrow
Thu, Feb 22, 2018

But sparrow numbers are falling with changes in urban spaces.

J&K shows the way
Thu, Feb 08, 2018

State’s decision to evolve a uniform employment code is laudable. Done right, it could serve as an example for labour law reform across India

An accessibility agenda
Thu, Jan 25, 2018

The approach to making buildings friendlier for persons with disabilities has been limited and perfunctory.

The bamboo curtain
Thu, Jan 11, 2018

Amending Indian Forest Act to have it classified as a grass is a welcome step. But there is still clutter and contradiction in India’s forest laws.

The old order changeth not
Fri, Dec 29, 2017

Many redundant laws have been repealed. But much of the deadwood waits to be removed, especially in states.

Reading the verdicts
Thu, Dec 14, 2017

Making sense of court judgments should not be the daunting exercise that it so often is.

International Labour Organisation’s omissions
Thu, Nov 30, 2017

Its report talks about ‘forced marriages’. Its methodology fails to delineate the concept, yielding questionable data.

Managing case flows
Thu, Nov 16, 2017

Draft rules in subordinate courts have either not been adopted or are not implemented in the right context.

Where credit is due
Thu, Nov 02, 2017

Despite problems with the methodology of the rankings, India’s 30-spot jump in World Bank’s Doing Business Indicators is remarkable.

Moonwatcher’s logic
Thu, Oct 19, 2017

Linking demonetisation with job losses is simplistic and naive.

When cooks get paid more than engineers
Thu, Oct 05, 2017

Some jobs are more sought after. Educational accomplishments don’t always count when it comes to salaries.

Losing the way with words
Thu, Sep 21, 2017

In the futile English versus mother tongue divide, India seems to be producing students who are comfortable in neither

The Macaulay we don’t know
Thu, Sep 07, 2017

Reading him out of context robs his writings of the lessons they hold for modern-day reformers

Out on several LIMBS
Thu, Aug 24, 2017

A Legal Information Management & Briefing System can help reduce government litigation

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement