Amulya Gopalakrishnan

Amulya Gopalakrishnan is a columnist with The Indian Express.

Speaking for myself: Lucky, Lucky Us
Sun, May 25, 2014

A check-your-privilege exercise would be so useful on our own campuses.

Speaking for myself: Us and Them
Sat, May 10, 2014

We all exist in two states — one rational, and one given to lazy stereotypes.

Mirth of a Nation: Political satire finds a new home on the internet
Mon, Mar 03, 2014

In an election year, political satire finds a new home on the internet.

The Missionary in Politics
Sun, Dec 29, 2013

2013 was the year of the aam aadmi,as Arvind Kejriwal came out of nowhere and suckerpunched the political establishment

The Marriage Plot
Sun, Sep 22, 2013

Shuddh Desi Romance deserves applause for upturning the assumptions of Hindi movie romance

Audio cassette: Rewind and Remember
Sun, Sep 01, 2013

Half a century of the cassette,a technology that truly brought music home

Mera Wala Green
Sun, Aug 18, 2013

When a sophisticated art form like Kathakali is cheerfully appropriated by commercials and movies

A Language of Foreign Things
Sat, Jul 20, 2013

An absorbing story about immigration,race and romance

Because It’s Fun
Sun, Jul 07, 2013

What,really,is the point of a degree in literature?

First Person Singular
Sun, Jun 02, 2013

In her story about herself,Madhu Purnima Kishwar is a woman without attachments,an ideological free agent.

A Life Less Hackable
Sun, May 19, 2013

Like everyone else,the more chaos my life is pitched into,the more I seek out visions of calm and control.

Painful Illusions
Sun, May 05, 2013

How much is too much to suffer in the pursuit of beauty?

Talk to the Hand
Sun, Mar 31, 2013

We’re all adept at communicating without words.

People Unlike Us
Sun, Mar 10, 2013

A book that will change how you think of difference,parenting and commitment

A Magazine for All of Us
Sun, Feb 24, 2013

A young man called William Roy DeWitt Wallace,recuperating from a shrapnel wound in France after World War I,found himself reflecting on the media-saturated times he lived in.

Difficult Pleasures
Sat, Nov 03, 2012

NW is an impressive formal experiment for Zadie Smith,but less fun than you might expect from her

‘This East versus West narrative is just a construction of Western elites,a pep talk’
Sun, Aug 26, 2012

From the Ruins of Empire: The Revolt Against the West and the Remaking of Asia,Pankaj Mishra’s new book,traces submerged strands of anti-colonial thought in Asia,exploring the intellectual journeys of figures such as Jamal al-Din al-Afghani,Liang Qichao and Rabindranath Tagore. He talks to Amulya Gopalakrishnan about that history of engagement,about India’s ideological climate,and why we need a culture of reasonable expectations

‘This East versus West narrative is just a construction of Western elites,a pep talk’
Thu, Aug 23, 2012

From the Ruins of Empire: The Revolt Against the West and the Remaking of Asia,Pankaj Mishra’s new book,traces submerged strands of anti-colonial thought in Asia,exploring the intellectual journeys of figures such as Jamal al-Din al-Afghani,Liang Qichao and Rabindranath Tagore. He talks to Amulya Gopalakrishnan about that history of engagement,about India’s ideological climate,and why we need a culture of reasonable expectations

Where the stress falls
Sat, Jul 07, 2012

Even in a politically correct world,accents remain the one thing we feel free to mock.

The Epistolary Dilemma
Sat, Jun 23, 2012

I’ve been reading Philip Larkin’s Letters to Monica,a book I coveted greatly,from reading the reviews.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement