scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Monday, May 23, 2022

Suvir Saran

Profile

The writer is a chef, author, educator and world traveller.

With great love comes great responsibility
Sat, May 21, 2022

We must acknowledge the sacrifices others have made and their acts of kindness that make our journey possible

In the memory of my aunt Asha, who taught me to be comfortable in my own skin
Sat, May 07, 2022

Hers was a life unfettered, with neither any obligation to another nor pausing to be questioned by the self or others

Remembering Sabiha Hashmi: The teacher, the mentor
Sat, Apr 16, 2022

Mrs Hashmi, who passed away on April 5, lives in the stories of her students' lives, having blessed so many with her peerless grace, dignity, and kindhearted tutelage

How we look away from self-serving sectarianism and open our minds to introspective reflection
Sat, Apr 02, 2022

Our ancient texts present a celebration of the world, freeing us from myopic thought and bigotry

Where people forget to die
Sun, Mar 20, 2022

In the blue zones, a life without regrets and endless gratitude

How Devi in New York City showed what human connections can do for food
Fri, Mar 04, 2022

Our menu made us proud and gave our customers something new and old as India.

How San Francisco can write a new love story
Thu, Feb 10, 2022

With the right heart, it can find ways to nurture the homeless and give them a sense of belonging

What Edward Lawrence Schoenfeld, impresario of Chinese cooking in Manhattan, brought to the table
Fri, Jan 21, 2022

Eddie was bestie, brother, friend and guide, who was as invested in people as he was in flavours and world cuisine.

Why we need to reach out across the divide
Sun, Jan 09, 2022

Wherever ideology creates schisms between us, we should rise beyond the comforts of those barriers and keep walking on the road that unites us

What makes Christmas in a Delhi household richer than a festive New York
Thu, Dec 30, 2021

🔴 The alcohol-laced fruitcake made by Shashi Gupta charmed neighbours and strangers alike.

Bangladesh @ 50: My Teacher, Marina Ahmad
Mon, Dec 13, 2021

Born before Bangladesh, she grew up with the idea of the world as a global village, where religion and nationality only play supporting roles

How can you tell if you’re alone or lonely
Sun, Nov 28, 2021

A life well lived is a life lived with peace of mind, without self-doubt, and in harmony with one’s inner self

Home is deep inside us, it’s a mind-soul connection
Sat, Nov 13, 2021

When mindfully happy and satisfied, we feel at home wherever we are, and even when all alone

Let the lights guide you home
Thu, Oct 28, 2021

Diwali leads us to that place where we learn to become one with the self and the world

The art of letting go
Tue, Jan 04, 2022

Those who have lived every minute, who have taken the good, the bad and the ugly all in their stride, who have not allowed one moment to defeat them, but are the sum of the moments of their lifetime, are the ones who come out stronger, smiling and fulfilled in life

All the light we cannot see
Sat, Oct 02, 2021

How pain makes us realise we are all connected in spite of our differences, it brings out our artistic and humane best

How COVID-19 gripped me and left me homesick for an Indian way of being
Sat, Sep 18, 2021

The solitary confinement in a hotel in the US made me homesick for Indian warmth, hospitality and connectedness

Why a Western critic’s outdated views on Indian food captures nothing of its versatility
Sun, Sep 05, 2021

They show, instead, how easily people can live in isolated cocoons from which they feel safe to tear down the practices, joys,loves and indulgences of another

Finding perfect friends and feeding them love daily
Sat, Aug 07, 2021

How 'perfect' friends show us a mirror to what we rather not see, keep us sincere and make us strive to be better

How gun reform is the need of the hour in the US
Sat, Jul 24, 2021

Guns are dangerous even when it’s in the hands of the most savvy, smart and educated people

Does charity really begin at home?
Sat, Jun 12, 2021

Often, not losing the personal touch is a quality that money cannot buy nor school can teach

Why our collective suffering should make us care better for others and our nation
Sat, May 29, 2021

The love of neighbours and loving relatives is unstructured, unscripted, and unfettered

Reflections as the virus hits closer home
Sun, May 16, 2021

These past months have helped us understand what matters most in life

When we ignore the brain
Sat, Apr 17, 2021

Where we need the most mindful care, we can be quite mindless

Why we need to stand in the light
Sat, Apr 03, 2021

Whether you celebrate Easter, Passover or Holi, or nothing at all, never forget to celebrate life

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement