Follow Us:
Sunday, May 31, 2020

Santosh Singh


Back in Bihar, migrants count days until they can return
Sun, May 31, 2020

A motorcycle mechanic in Gurgaon for the last seven years, Sabir is among around 2,000 migrant workers who returned last month to Maheshpur after industries and shops shut down because of the lockdown.

‘Now I will have to become a mother to these children all over again’
Sat, May 30, 2020

A video clip showing a woman lying motionless on the ground at the Muzaffarpur railway station in Bihar, her son playing with the cloth covering her — unaware that his mother had died became an emblem for the trauma faced by lakhs of migrant workers returning home to escape the lockdown distress.

Covid-19 cases surge in Bihar, but morbidity rate stays low
Fri, May 29, 2020

In almost all districts of the state, there is hardly any patient admitted to Level II hospitals, where moderate Covid-19 patients with symptoms of pneumonia have to be treated.

On way home, nine dead in Shramik Specials in 48 hours
Thu, May 28, 2020

Railways officials said many of them were patients returning home after treatment in other cities.

TV lessons for govt school students in Bihar, parents cite no interaction
Wed, May 27, 2020

According to the parents of several students, a major drawback of this model is that it is non-interactive and the content is basic

Bihar state boards: Farmers’ sons bag top 2 ranks, 80% pass
Wed, May 27, 2020

About 80.53 per cent of the 14,94,071 students who had taken the board exams this year passed. The pass percentage was 80.73 last year, 68.89 in 2018 and 50.12 in 2017.

Migration to be theme of next Bihar polls: Upendra Kushwaha
Tue, May 26, 2020

Asked if the Opposition's response during Covid crisis had been minimal, Kushwaha said it was only because they had to adhere to lockdown norms.

Bihar: Only migrants coming from 11 cities to be sent to quarantine centres
Sat, May 23, 2020

People coming from places other than Surat, Delhi, Pune, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Kolkata, Noida and Bengaluru will be sent for home quarantine, provided they do not have symptoms and monitored.

In Bihar district, 100 beds, 200 rooms in place, need ventilator & ambulance
Sat, May 23, 2020

The Indian Express found in the district that in the precious time the lockdown gave, the local administration cobbled up a basic first line of defence: a swab collection centre, a 100-bed Level-II dedicated facility for moderate cases with pneumonia symptoms, and a Level-I care centre of 200 single rooms in two buildings of a training institute.

Bihar revises migrant quarantine strategy based on infection risk
Fri, May 22, 2020

Trends of the last three weeks have suggested the highest risk among migrants coming from Delhi, followed by Ahmedabad, Surat and Pune. Of 1,872 cases reported till Thursday noon, about 1,000 were from high-risk towns.

Back from top study hubs in Covid-19 wake, teachers from Bihar plan to stay
Thu, May 21, 2020

Dhiraj Kumar Mishra has taught at coaching institutes in Kota and Bengaluru. "I had started teaching in Patna, but was not getting a good salary. I left for Kota and started getting paid well. But Covid-19 has changed all calculations."

Bihar says 20 lakh to return, Centre plans Shramik train surge
Wed, May 20, 2020

“From now on, 100 specials trains will run daily to bring back migrants to Bihar. After an agreement between Bihar and the Central government, altogether 800 trains will operate to bring back over 20 lakh migrants,” Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi tweeted.

Bihar: As migrants return, pressure on village quarantine centres
Tue, May 19, 2020

Amid the lockdown, the Bihar government had decided to accommodate all the returning migrants in quarantine centres.

Begin Again
Sun, May 17, 2020

Pramod Rai, Kamlesh Sahu, Ravi Maurya, Dinesh Kharadi, Ajay Manjhi, Gajraj Yadav, and Abdul Azim are the “luckier” ones, having made their way back to their villages after long journeys. As they rework their budgets and life, what keeps them going is the whiff of their dreams

Next challenge for Odisha and Bihar: Virus coming home with migrants
Fri, May 15, 2020

The high positivity rate among migrant workers is raising concerns in Bihar which is a primary destination state for migrant labour. And when the testing of migrants returning through six inter-state borders, through which about 10,000 are entering each day, is yet to begin.

Covid-19 economic crisis: Bihar requests Centre for early release of local body funds
Wed, May 13, 2020

Bihar has also requested the Centre for raising the state’s borrowing limit under the Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management Act to tide over the financial crisis.

In Bihar, panchayat mukhiyas keep an eye out for migrants skipping quarantine
Wed, May 13, 2020

The mukhiya has also made it mandatory for villagers in the panchayat area to wear masks before stepping out.

As thousands of migrants return, Bihar worries about limited Covid testing capacity
Mon, May 11, 2020

Over the last few days, about 20,000 migrants have returned every day by trains and by road through the state’s six inter-state borders.

Migrant workers in Bihar’s Gopalganj: ‘Don’t mind quarantine if it ensures safety of family’
Mon, May 11, 2020

Forty-four migrants from Jharkhand and Bihar are among several others who have been lodged at the quarantine centre in Gopalganj at the double-storey ZA Islamia High School building which can accommodate 100 people.

Row over payment for migrant trains, Bihar says Delhi violated Railway Ministry norms
Sun, May 10, 2020

Delhi government had made an advance payment to the Indian Railways and had written to the Bihar government on Thursday requesting a reimbursement. On Friday, the Delhi government said it was footing the bill for migrant workers headed to states that do not want to pay.