Follow Us:
Thursday, December 05, 2019

Sangeeta Khanna

Profile

Sangeeta Khanna is a food and nutrition consultant, and develops recipes and products for the industry. She likes to curate experiential menus with local and wild-growing ingredients. She blogs at banaraskakhana.com and healthfooddesivideshi.com and freelances on matters of sustainable healthy food, regional cuisines and eco-travel. Her other interests are photography, birding and crafts.

Travelling suitcase
Sun, Aug 25, 2019

When in Cyprus, learn how to make halloumi, ethically.

From Sambharo to Tamatar ka Chokha, a comprehensive guide to Indian salads
Fri, Jul 01, 2016

If you thought Indian cuisine lacked salads, you couldn’t be more wrong. Here is a list of salads from Kashmir to Kanyakumari.

Try this healthy tendli stir fry to beat diabetes
Sat, Jun 11, 2016

This crunchy summer gourd is just the dish for this season.

Mango + feta cheese: The tastiest salad you’ll ever have
Thu, Jun 02, 2016

This weekend, make an Italian-style salad with mango and cheese.

On a hot day like today, you should be having some Peaches and Coconut ice-cream
Fri, May 27, 2016

Home-made frozen desserts are easier to make than you think, and way healthier than supermarket options. Here’s an outstanding recipe.

From Nagori to Banarsi kachori: An ode to one of India’s most loved snacks
Mon, May 23, 2016

Indians have always had an intense love affair with this traders’ snack, which was invented centuries ago by the Marwaris.

The desi heat-buster: Spiced buttermilk with cucumber and curry patta
Sat, May 21, 2016

Blend cucumber and buttermilk, and you have a drink that’s almost a snack.

Here’s how you can make great iced tea at home
Mon, May 16, 2016

The easiest foolproof way to brew a good tea is to cold brew it for a few hours along with the herb of choice.

Tonight, have this healthy Mango Couscous salad with nuts and seeds
Wed, May 11, 2016

We all know couscous is nutritious; and if you get mangoes into the picture, it gets all the more interesting.

Eight healthy, nutritious, seasonal Indian street foods you are blind to
Fri, May 06, 2016

From kachalu chat to shikhanji, our streets, thankfully, still feature these seasonal street foods. You just have to look a little harder to find them.

A summer salad with summer veggies
Sat, Apr 30, 2016

Try beet and carrots for a burst of health and colour on your plate.

Chiwda dahi, better than packaged cereal
Mon, Apr 25, 2016

Here is another prebiotic and probiotic breakfast that is as instant as opening a box of cereal.

Jau ki Ghat, the perfect Indian cereal breakfast
Thu, Apr 21, 2016

This Rajasthani breakfast made using barley is a great source of nourishment because of its prebiotic and probiotic properties.

From rikwachh to fulouri, the lost pakodas of India
Mon, Apr 11, 2016

A pakoda is not just a fritter. The Hindi heartland itself has numerous distinctive varieties, and we are at risk of losing them.

Try these Chaitra Navratri recipes this weekend
Sat, Apr 09, 2016

Sago pesto paneer salad and porridge of barnyard millet sound great even if you’re not fasting.

For the first day of fasting on Chaitra navratri, try this tasty dhokla recipe
Fri, Apr 08, 2016

This barnyard millet and buttermilk ‘vrat ka dhokla’ is light and refreshing.