Pooja Pillai

Profile

Pooja Pillai is a Principal correspondent working with The Indian Express.

In Other Rooms, Other Lives
Fri, Jun 22, 2018

Photographer and fashion industry veteran Leonardo Pucci's works resonate with the possibilities of many different stories.

Death Comes as the End
Sat, Jun 16, 2018

A round-up of Indian detective fiction novels this season.

Brave New World
Wed, Jun 13, 2018

As Saffronart’s 200th auction begins today, co-founder Minal Vazirani reflects on its role in shaping the art market in India.

Mumbai is like a bad lover, says Chicago journalist Elizabeth Flock
Mon, Jun 11, 2018

An American writer on why she documented the desires and disillusionments of marriage in Mumbai.

The Past is Present
Fri, Jun 08, 2018

Fellows from the Godrej Culture Lab Leadership Programme examine the role and relevance of Urdu in contemporary culture

The Pages of History
Wed, Jun 06, 2018

How an American architect built a formidable collection of books about Mumbai’s storied past

How To Make An Exhibition
Tue, May 29, 2018

A recent book documenting the landmark 2013 exhibition ‘Aesthetic Bind’ is as much a catalogue as a manual and homage to exhibition-making

Once Upon A Time, A Star
Fri, May 25, 2018

Filmmaker Nag Ashwin on the making of his critically-acclaimed film Mahanati and the lasting allure of screen legend, Savitri.

Whatever you do, don’t run
Fri, May 18, 2018

More escapades in the great, big outdoors

A city’s artbeats: How the visionary Jamshed J Bhabha moulded NCPA in Mumbai
Sun, May 13, 2018

How the incredibly tenacious visionary Jamshed J Bhabha moulded NCPA, Bombay’s iconic art space.

Tell Me A Story
Tue, May 08, 2018

A Mumbai-based archive is collecting oral histories in an effort to facilitate a more nuanced, complex understanding of India’s past

Families in Food: Mother’s Recipe
Sun, May 06, 2018

How a son is taking his mother’s delectable Bohri dishes to Mumbai homes.

The Sea will Remember
Mon, Apr 30, 2018

In her new exhibition, artist Meera Devidayal examines the relationship between the sea and the city of Mumbai

Why Dileesh Pothan could be crucial to the wavering fortunes of Malayalam cinema
Sun, Apr 29, 2018

To anyone who has watched the two films directed by Dileesh Pothan — Maheshinte Prathikaaram and Thondimuthalum Dhriksakshiyum — that intense love for cinema is evident in each carefully conceived frame.

The Art of Listening
Wed, Apr 25, 2018

In how many ways can an archive inform our understanding of art? CONA, an artists’ hub in Mumbai, explores the question with the collection of the late music critic Sheryar Ookerjee.

Ram Kumar (1924-2018): In Memoriam
Mon, Apr 16, 2018

Artists Krishen Khanna, Manu Parekh, Prabhakar Kolte, Akbar Padamsee and Gulam Mohammed Sheikh recall their associations with Ram Kumar.

A Joking Matter
Wed, Apr 11, 2018

A theatre performance that delivers funny but sharp observations on everyday misogyny comes to Mumbai

Beyond paper and paint, an artist needs a vision: Prabhakar Kolte
Sun, Apr 08, 2018

One of India’s leading abstract artists, the reclusive Prabhakar Kolte speaks on his first solo show in over a decade, the importance of being a non-conformist and why art education in India is outdated.

Meet Samuel Abiola Robinson: The man who kicked the hornet’s nest
Wed, Apr 04, 2018

Despite feeling discriminated against by the producers of Sudani from Nigeria, Nigerian actor Samuel Abiola Robinson hopes to return for more Indian films.

A Table Becomes A Shop: How do informal workers humanise the urban space?
Sun, Apr 01, 2018

An architecture show has the answer.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement