scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, June 20, 2021

Nishant Shah

Profile

Nishant Shah is a professor of new media and the co-founder of The Centre for Internet & Society, Bangalore

What Grumpy Cat, aka Tardar Sauce or Tard, taught us
Sun, Jun 02, 2019

The legacy that Grumpy Cat leaves behind.

Digital Native: Three things we need to realise about what TikTok is doing to us
Sun, May 19, 2019

Fifteen seconds is all that will take for TikTok to own you.

Digital Native: Narendra Modi’s interview by Akshay Kumar is a PR masterpiece
Sun, May 05, 2019

How to spot the influencer in your politics.

Digital Native: Getting through an election made for the social media gaze
Sun, Apr 21, 2019

In the poll season, social media platforms thrive on wounded outrage disguised as politics.

To solve its problems, Facebook needs to accept its role in creating them
Sun, Apr 07, 2019

The problem with Facebook’s recent shout-out for collective social responsibility.

Digital Native: Lessons from Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp going down
Sun, Mar 24, 2019

The day when three social-media apps refused to load.

Digital Native: How an information overload affects what you forward
Sun, Mar 10, 2019

The information overload of social media sharing can make us act against our better judgement.

What I learned from going offline for 48 hours
Sun, Feb 24, 2019

A weekend without the internet shows just how much control we surrender to online chatter.

Why it’s too much to expect social media companies to end the spread of fake news
Sun, Feb 10, 2019

Technological control of fake news is impossible if we remain eager to hate.

India’s proposed new internet bill is as repressive as the worst of Chinese laws
Sun, Jan 27, 2019

The proposed new internet bill is as repressive as the worst of Chinese restrictions. The new intermediaries liability and content monitoring act that will become a law in February, unquestioningly expand the remit of the government.

Digital Native: She Will Survive
Sun, Jan 13, 2019

But for that we have to recognise that the woman who says #MeToo is not just a flat, digital image.

Digital Native: System Needs a Reboot
Sun, Dec 30, 2018

It’s time to replace the schizophrenic need for variety with ingenuity — the truthiness of the information.

#Foodporn is about making food as fake as orgasms in commercial porn
Sun, Dec 09, 2018

Our love for #foodporn makes us blind to the politics of food.

Digital Native: One Selfie Does a Tragedy Make
Sun, Nov 11, 2018

The great find of this century – life’s worth just a selfie. Channeling the inner narcissus is now human hamartia.

Digital Native: Hashtag Fatigue
Sun, Oct 28, 2018

It is easy to hijack hashtags by coupling them with others. It is equally easy to make hashtags die.

Digital Native: Time to Walk the Talk
Sun, Oct 14, 2018

#MeToo has turned victims into survivors, but social media remains an unsafe space.

Digital Native: Hardly Friends Like That
Sun, Sep 30, 2018

Individual effort is far from enough to fool Facebook’s grouping algorithm.

The Right Words for Love
Sun, Sep 23, 2018

Queer love is legal. Which means that all of us are finally free to find a language that can match our desires.

Digital Native: #MemeToo
Sun, Sep 09, 2018

An old meme shows the need for emotional literacy in our digitally saturated age. Memes, like regrettable exes, have the habit of resurfacing at regular periods.

Digital Native: Playing God
Sun, Aug 26, 2018

Google’s home assistant can make you feel deceptively God-like as it listens to every command of yours. It is a device that never sleeps, and always listens, waiting for a voice to utter “Ok Google” to jump into life.

Digital Native: Double Speak
Sun, Aug 12, 2018

Aadhaar’s danger has always been that it opens up individuals to high levels of vulnerability without providing safeguards.

Digital Native: Hashtag Along With Me
Sun, Jul 29, 2018

A hashtag that evolved with a movement.

Digital Native: How smart cities can make criminals out of denizens
Sun, Jul 15, 2018

People download information and share it without knowing about the intellectual property rights. On social media bullying, harassment and hate speech find easy avenues.

Digital Native: The bigger picture
Sun, Jul 01, 2018

For all our sleek machines, we are slaves to the much larger Internet of Things.

Digital Native: Cause an effect
Sun, Jun 17, 2018

Aadhaar is a self-contained safe system, its interaction with other data and information systems is also equally safe and benign.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement