Jimmy Leivon

Articles By Jimmy Leivon

Manipur: Quarry workers demand alternative site for mining, threaten agitation

The High Court had on July 2 imposed a total ban on unauthorised stones quarrying, sand mining in all rivers of the state in order to prevent river pollution.

Manipur: Mass leave by govt teachers paralyse schools

Representatives of the teachers had a meeting with the additional director and account officer about their grievances.

Manipur teachers irked over lowered pay scale, to go for three-day mass casual leave

On July 11, Manipur government passed Manipur Services (Revision Pay) Rules, 2019 much against the interest of the teachers' community.

Manipur airlifted 150 MT of organic pineapples across the country in 2018: CM

Stating that horticulture is a key sector to the economic prosperity of the state, the chief minister stressed the need to focus on some specific items like pineapple, lemon, orange, ginger and Yongchak (tree bean) among others, which are suitable for growing in the state.

Manipur: 18-year-old youth dies of swine flu in Imphal

K. Rajo, Director of Health Department Manipur said that the department has enough stock of Tamivir to counter the disease in the event of an outbreak.

Manipur CM N Biren Singh honours police team behind biggest drugs seizure

A combined team of Narcotics and Affairs of Border (NAB) police and Thoubal Police on June 29 busted a heroin and brown sugar manufacturing lab and recovered a huge quantity of drugs worth about Rs 100 crore in the international market.

Manipur: Imphal Municipal Corporation suspended for six months over financial irregularities

MAHUD department on July 3 issued a show-cause notice to IMC directing to submit an explanation on financial irregularities, violation of guidelines, diversion of funds among others, said the order.

NSCN-IM opposes Register of Indigenous Inhabitants of Nagaland

Nagaland Government initiated the process for preparing RIIN since July 10 with the proposed objective to prevent non-Nagas from acquiring fake indigenous certificates. The RIIN is a master list of all the indigenous inhabitants of Nagaland.

Indian Army busts NSCM-IM camp in Manipur, recovers huge cache of arms and ammunitions

Singh pointed out that the “Cease Fire Ground Rules” lay down basic framework under which both, government agencies and NSCN (IM) are required to operate, however, the NSCN (IM) has continuously been violating the ground rules laid down by them.

Manipur: NSCN-IM cadre escapes from police custody, four policemen suspended

The department has constituted a high-level probe into the incident headed by a Deputy Inspector General of Police.

Manipur: Village chief, nephew shot dead by suspected militant

The deceased chief was identified as Thangneo Kipgen (58), s/o (L) Letkhai Kipgen and Thangminlun Haokip (26), s/o Thenthang Haokip.

Will never compromise on ancestral homeland: UNC on demand of Territorial Council by Kuki militants

The UNC urged the Centre to honour the well established political position of the Naga people on land, identity, history and rights and to exercise her prerogatives cautiously.

Manipur: Farmers growing restless over scarcity of water, stage protest

A group of farmers Saturday stormed the secretariat office in Imphal demanding immediate relief for those affected by the drought-like situation.

Lowest infant deaths in Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram; Health ministry keen on replicating trend in other states

"In spite of having barriers, different ecological region, culture and socio-economic variation, the three states are lowering IMR. It is a unique and powerful achievement which the rest of India can learn from," Dr Ajay Khera further added.

Manipur: IED attack outside BJP MLA’s residence

Police said the IED was triggered around 4 pm near the eastern side wall of the MLA’s house.

Manipur High Court bans sand mining, stone quarry in state rivers

The high court was hearing a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) filed by Thoubal River Conservation Committee, a civic body, seeking a stop to the exploitation of the Thoubal river.

Manipur CM chairs high-level meeting to tackle possible drought

In June, Manipur, besides the other northeastern states, received 41 percent less rainfall than normal, raising concerns over the kharif crops and a severe shortage of drinking water.

‘Manipur’s biggest ever drug haul’: Drugs worth Rs 100 crores recovered, says police

As Manipur shares its border with Myanmar, it is used as a transit point for smuggling drugs, arms, human trafficking and security forces seize different forms of drugs worth crores of rupees every year.

Manipur: Court grants bail to MLA Yamthong Haokip in missing arms case

The court, citing a medical report submitted by Haokip, stated that the accused is suffering from a very serious illness and at any time the life of the accused may be in danger if proper treatment is not provided.

Manipur: Leadership crisis within Biren Singh government deepens

On Wednesday, Biren Singh had to defer a meeting of all the MLAs and ministers of the coalition government, including eight Congress turncoats.