Twin tons set up India’s 169-run win over Sri Lanka

Twin tons set up India’s 169-run win over Sri Lanka

India outclassed Sri Lanka in all departments to register a 169-run win the first ODI in Cuttack.

India and Sri Lanka squared-off in the first ODI in Cuttack. Sri Lanka won the toss and invited India to bat first. Rahane and Dhawan provided a brilliant start bringing up the 100-run partnership in the 21st over. (Source: PTI)

Ajinkya Rahane spearheaded the attack and Dhawan played the second fiddle. Rahane brought up his fifty in 1 balls. (Source: PTI)

Shikhar Dhawan was also playing a gem. He was a slow starter but then played his strokes to bring up his half-century in 64 balls. (Source: PTI)

Ajinkya Rahane continued to tear the Sri Lankan bowling after his fifty. He scored his ton off 99 balls and the opening partnership was woth 200 off 189 balls. (Source: PTI)

Dhawan also brough up his ton just after Rahane but in quicker time. Dhawan only took 96 balls for his century. The opener finally departed for a 107-ball 113 with 231 runs on the board. (Source: PTI)

After Dhawan, Rahane also played a bad shot and was out for 111. Suresh Raina then played some brilliant shots and in no time was past his fifty. But he was out LBW, trying to sweep Suraj Randiv on an individual score of 52 (32 balls). India finished with 363/7 after some late blitz from Axar Patel. (Source: PTI)

Sri Lanka, chasing 364 to win, were off to a decent start with Upul Tharanga and Tilakratne Dilshan. But Dilshan was dismissed by Umesh Yadav, caught behind with 38 runs on the board. (Source: PTI)

Ishant Sharma then wrecked-havoc and picked by Kumar Sangakkara to break Sri Lanka's backbone. Indian spinners capitalised on the early breakthroughs and Axar Patel claimed three wickets and R AShwin claiming one. (Source: PTI)

Ishant Shram returned for his second spell and picked up three wickets to all but seal the match for India. No Sri Lankan batsmen could stay in the middle and were bundled out for 182 giving India a 169-run win, their fourth biggest win in ODIs. (Source: PTI)