Bharat Ratna winners over the years

Bharat Ratna winners over the years

We take a look at some of the famous Bharat Ratna awardees.

As cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar and academician C. N. R. Rao are all set to receive the highest civilian honour – Bharat Ratna – on February 4 for their contribution in their respective fields, we take a look at some of the famous Bharat Ratna awardees.

C Rajagopalachari: The freedom fighter who went on to become the only Indian Governor-General of India was awarded in 1954.

C. V. Raman/Amartya Sen: Physicist CV Raman in 1954.

Economist Amartya Sen in 1999 for academics. Both are also Nobel laureates.

S Radhakrishnan: Philosopher, India's First Vice President (1952-1962) and India's Second President (1962-1967) in 1954.

Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru: In 1955, India's first prime minister and one of the leading lights of the freedom movement was awarded.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad: The first President of Independent India was awarded in 1962, for his contributions to the freedom movement and excellence as a jurist.

Zakir Hussain: In 1962, freedom fighter, scholar and third President of India, was given the Bharat Ratna awards.

Lal Bahadur Shastri: In 1966, Lal Bahadur Shastri, freedom fighter and India's second Prime Minister, was given the title posthumously.

Indira Gandhi: In 1971, Indira Gandhi, the first female Prime Minister of India, was given the award.

Mother Teresa: In 1980, Catholic nun Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu, commonly known as Mother Teressa was bestowed the highest civilian honour. She founded the Missionaries of Charity.

Vinoba Bhave: In 1983, social reformer and freedom fighter Vinoba Bhave was given the title posthumously.

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan: In 1987, the freedom fighter became the first person from outside India to get the award.

M. G. Ramachandran, M. S. Subbulakshmi, Bismillah Khan:
M. G. Ramachandran – In 1998, film actor and Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu was given the award posthumously.

M. S. Subbulakshmi – In 1998, the Carnatic classical singer was given the award.

Bismillah Khan – In 2001, Hindustani shehnai maestro was given the award.

Ravi Shankar, Lata Mangeshkar, Bhimsen Joshi:
Ravi Shankar – The legendary sitar player was given the award in 1999.

Lata Mangeshkar – Popular Bollywood playback singer Lata Mangeskar was given the award in 2001.

Bhimsen Joshi – the Hindustani classical singer was presented with the award in 2009.

B. R. Ambedkar: The Chief architect of the Indian Constitution and crusader against untouchability, Dalit icon, social reformer, historian, politician, economist, and scholar recieved the award posthumously in 1990.

Nelson Mandela: In 1990, nelson Mandela became the second non-citizen and non-Indian recipient of the the award. Mandela was the leader of the Anti-Apartheid movement in South Africa.

rajiv gandhi, rajiv gandhi death, rajiv gandhi death anniversary, rahiv gandhi PM, PM rajiv gandhi, Rajiv gandhi assassination, Sriperumbudur rajiv gandhi, rajiv gandhi Sriperumbudur, rajiv gandhi Tamil, Tamil Nadu Rajiv Gandhi, Rahiv Gandhi murder, rajiv gandhi pictures, rajiv gandhi photos, sonia gandhi, indira gandhi rahul gandhi priyanka gandhi, rare rajiv gandhi photo, india rajiv gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi, who was the sixth and youngest PM of India, was assassinated on May 21, 1991 at Sriperumbudur in Tamil Nadu during a poll campaign. (Source: Express archive)

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam: In 1997, Aeronautical Engineer and the 11th President of India was given the honour.