BJP severs ties with PDP in Jammu and Kashmir

BJP severs ties with PDP in Jammu and Kashmir

Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti hands in her resignation minutes after the BJP pulled out of the state government.

BJP severs ties with Mehbooba mufti led pdp

“We had always said muscular security policy will not work in Jammu and Kashmir. The state can’t be treated as enemy territory. Reconciliation is the key,” said Mehbooba Mufti. (Express Photo by Shuaib Masoodi)

The Bharatiya Janata Party pulled out of the alliance with the People’s Democratic Party in Jammu-Kashmir on Tuesday, three years after the two parties came together following a hung verdict in 2015. (Express Photo by Prem Nath Pandey)

The decision to end the alliance came on the day BJP ministers arrived in New Delhi to meet party president Amit Shah. (Express Photo by Prem Nath Pandey)

BJP severs ties with Mehbooba mufti led pdp

“We have taken many measures to improve the situation in the state. Got the Centre to announce unilateral ceasefire. We tried to keep Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh united,” Mufti said. (Express Photo by Shuaib Masoodi)

Minutes after the announcement was made, Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti handed her resignation to Governor NN Vohra. (Source: PTI)

Addressing a press conference, the party’s J&K in-charge Ram Madhav said it has become untenable for the BJP to continue in this government. (Express Photo by Prem Nath Pandey)

On the issue of Ramzan ceasefire, Madhav said it was not reciprocated by terrorists or militants. (Express Photo by Prem Nath Pandey)

With the decision bringing down the curtains to three years of PDP-BJP coalition, the border-sensitive state might come under governor’s rule, which will be for the fourth time in the last 10 years. In Pic: BJP leader Jitendra Singh and party J & K chief Ravinder Raina at the press conference in Delhi. (Source: PTI)

"When the BJP had formed the government in J&K, we had told the PM that it will be a Himalayan mistake. We have been proven right.", said Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad. (Source: PTI)