Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Here are the 33 writers who returned their Sahitya Akademi awards

7 years ago
Sahitya Akademi, Writers protest, Writers Sahitya Akademi Awards, Writers return Sahitya awards, Narendra Dabholkar killed, M M Kalburgi death, Govind Pansare death, Dadri lynching, Mohammed Akhlaq killed, Communal violence, Nation news, india news, the indian express
22 of 34

Ambika Dutt, 59 (Hindi)Since he cleared the Rajasthan Tehsildar Service in 1980, he has served in at least half a dozen districts, eventually being promoted to the Rajasthan Administrative Service in 2003. He is now posted as the Registrar of University of Kota.

Dutt has penned seven poetry books in Hindi and in Hadoti dialect of Rajasthani. His chief works include Aawon Main Baarho Maas (Twelve Months in Crisis) and Aanthyoi Nahi Din Hal (Not Sunset Till Now). He says his dealings with people and experiences as a government employee have greatly inspired his work.

Dutt was awarded the Sahitya Akademi award in 2013 for Aanthyoi Nahi Din Hal which stood out as modern poetry written in free-verse.

I protested because: “We shouldn’t pigeonhole writers’ protest as a political or a communal movement as it pollutes the issue… Writers and jagruk sansthan (enlightened institutions) have to act, when required, irrespective of who’s in power. Like Munshi Premchand said, ‘Literature is not something which follows politics, but leads it like a torch’.”