Follow Us:
Thursday, January 27, 2022

Here are the 33 writers who returned their Sahitya Akademi awards

6 years ago
Sahitya Akademi, Writers protest, Writers Sahitya Akademi Awards, Writers return Sahitya awards, Narendra Dabholkar killed, M M Kalburgi death, Govind Pansare death, Dadri lynching, Mohammed Akhlaq killed, Communal violence, Nation news, india news, the indian express
2 of 34

Munawwar Rana, 62(URDU)A cancer survivor, Rana participates in mushairas across India and abroad, and runs a transport business , earning around Rs 2.5 lakh a month. He was made president of the Uttar Pradesh Udru Akademi in 2014 but resigned, alleging corruption. In 2004, he dedicated his poem Rukhsati hote hi maa baap ko bhool gayi to Congress president Sonia Gandhi. A few months ago, he was seen at a UPCC function. But he denies political affiliations, pointing out that he also wrote about Tarun Vijay (former editor of RSS mouthpiece Panchajanya).

His published work includes collections of shayari, ghazals and nazms. His other popular works include Muhajirnama and Baghair Nakshe Ka Makaan. He won the Sahitya Akademi award in 2014 for Shahdaba. The Bengal Urdu Akademi has also awarded him for contribution to Urdu.

I protested because:  “Some said that artistes got awards due to sycophancy… I also had strong objection to Culture Minister Mahesh Sharma and Arun Jaitley’s remarks. Artists are fakirs but kings of their own world and no wazir can interfere there.”