Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Here are the 33 writers who returned their Sahitya Akademi awards

7 years ago
Sahitya Akademi, Writers protest, Writers Sahitya Akademi Awards, Writers return Sahitya awards, Narendra Dabholkar killed, M M Kalburgi death, Govind Pansare death, Dadri lynching, Mohammed Akhlaq killed, Communal violence, Nation news, india news, the indian express
15 of 34

Darshan Buttar, 61(Punjabi)Buttar, often called the “big poet of short poems”, lives in Nabha, a city in Patiala district. After retiring as a manager from Punjab and Sind Bank, Nabha, Buttar says he lives on a monthly pension of Rs 30,000. Buttar, who began writing when he was in college, has authored six books of poetry.  He wrote extensively during the 1984 riots, his angst reflecting in the six anthologies that he put together — Aur de Badal; Salaabi Hawa; Shabd, Shehar te Ret, Khadhawan; Dard Majithi and Maha Kambini. His subjects range from the plight of women and farmers to globalisation and corruption. He won the Sahitya Akademi award in 2012 for his poetry collection, Maha Kambani.

In 2007, the Amarinder Singh government honoured him with the Shiromani Punjabi Poet award.

I protested because: “The ink from our pens is now being smeared on our faces. They ask us where were we during the riots. We were very much here, writing furiously, and that is how we’ve got a following of readers. Why is the PM silent? Why is nothing being done to tackle this blatant fundamentalism?”