Saturday, Feb 04, 2023

Uttar Pradesh bypoll results 2019: BJP, ally win 8 seats, SP gets 3; BSP, Congress draw blank

Uttar Pradesh bypoll results 2019: As per the latest trends, the ruling BJPis leading in six seats and its ally Apna Dal is ahead in one seat. On the other hand, the Samajwadi Party SP is ahead in two seats, while the Congress and the BSP are leading in one seat each.

Uttar Pradesh bypoll results 2019: Out of 11 seats, BJP, ally ahead in 6; SP in 2; Congress, BSP in 1 each Uttar Pradesh bypoll results 2019: The SP is ahead in Rampur and Zairpur, the BSP in Jalalpur and the Congress in Gangoh.

Uttar Pradesh Bypoll Results 2019: The BJP and its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) managed to retain their eight Assembly seats as the results of the state bypolls were announced Thursday. The Samajwadi Party was the major gainer in the bypolls as it won one seat each from the BJP and BSP.

The saffron party retained Balha, Gangoh, Manikpur, Ghosi, Iglas, Lucknow Cantt and Govindnagar, while Apna Dal (S) retained Pratapgarh. The SP won three seats, wresting Zaidpur seat from the ruling BJP and Jalalpur seat from the BSP, while it retained Rampur.

Follow Uttar Pradesh, Bihar bypoll results 2019 Live updates

For the BJP, Kirat Singh won from Gangoh, Suresh Chandra Tiwari from Lucknow Cantt, Rajkumar Sahyogi from Iglas, Surendra Maithani from Govindnagar, Saroj Sonkar from Balha, Vijay Kumar Rajbhar from Ghosi, and Aanand Shukla won from Manikpur. BJP’s ally Apna Dal (Soneylal) candidate Rajkumar Pal won from Pratapgarh. Samajwadi Party’s Tazeen Fatma, who is the wife of senior party leader Azam Khan, won from Rampur. SP’s Gaurav Kumar from Zaidpur and Subhash Rai won from Jalalpur.

However, Kirat Singh’s poll victory was questioned by Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who accused the BJP of trying to subvert the people’s verdict by putting pressure on the district magistrate to reduce Masood’s lead. In a tweet, Gandhi said the BJP is insulting democracy with one of its ministers telephoning the district magistrate again and again to reduce the Congress candidate’s margin.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Essentials | Weekly news express with MCQs: Adani-Hindenburg saga, M...
Anti-science movement is political but medicine also hasn’t conveyed its ...
In Jharkhand’s tribal villages, an online marketplace for local produce
Delhi Confidential: Mansukh Mandaviya gives a shout out to youngest Mitra

Of the 11 seats of the state where bypolls were held on Monday, eight were held by the BJP and one by its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal). Two other seats were shared by the Samajwadi Party and the BSP.

The bypolls are largely being seen as a referendum on the two-year government of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and four-year reign of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. Uttar Pradesh saw a low voter turnout of 47.05 per cent in 11 assembly seats while the figure was 49.50 per cent in Bihar.

The bypolls were mostly necessitated after sitting legislators got elected to the Lok Sabha in May. The Ghosi seat fell vacant following the resignation of sitting MLA Phagu Chauhan after he was appointed as Bihar governor.


The BJP currently has 302 members in the 403-member assembly, NDA ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) has eight MLAs, the SP has 47, the BSP has 18, while the Congress has seven.

First published on: 24-10-2019 at 12:48 IST
Next Story

Ari Aster on MCU films: Annoyed by the monopoly

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments