Follow Us:
Tuesday, November 30, 2021

We will work without discrimination, says Yogi Adityanath

Yogi Adityanath thanked the people of state for giving a huge mandate to the BJP.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: March 19, 2017 9:03:35 pm
Yogi Adityanath, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, UP CM, UP CM yogi adityanath, BJP, BJP victory, BJP win, Bhartiya Janata Party, Yogi adityanath press conference, UP elections, UP election results 2017, narendra Modi, women safety, UP development, India news, indian express news Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath held a press conference after taking oath on Sunday. (Source: ANI photo)

Newly-appointed Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Sunday said that his government is committed to fulfill all the promises made by the BJP in its election manifesto.

Addressing his first press conference as the Chief Minister and in an apparent move to allay fears that he, as a long-time Hindutva icon, might discriminate against the minorities, Adityanath promised there would be no bias for or against anyone. Adityanath said: “Our government is fully committed to fulfil the promises that were made (before elections).”

He also thanked the people of state for giving a huge mandate to the BJP.

“Our government will work for all sections of the society without any discrimination. It will work towards youth employment in the state. We will surely work to improve job crisis”, the chief minister said.

Adityanath further said, “In 15 years, Uttar Pradesh has been left behind in all respects. Past governments have hurt state’s growth. We will take UP on path of growth and will work for the welfare of people.”

Calling the swearing in of a new BJP government a historic occasion, the Chief Minister recalled BJP ideologue Deen Dayal Upadhyaya, saying his government was committed to fulfilling his dream of antyodaya.

Agriculture, he said, would be made the base for all development work in Uttar Pradesh.

Adityanath was sworn in as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday. The oath was administered by Governor Ram Naik which took place at Smriti Upvan in Lucknow. Besides, Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma took over as the deputy chief ministers in a Cabinet which will have 23 other ministers.  A large bumber of leaders and ministers attended the ceremony including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Mulayam SInh Yadav AKhilesh Yadav and others. He is the 21st CM of the state and is five time MP from Gorakhpur.

Cabinet ministers Shrikant Sharma and Sidharth Nath Singh were named the official spokespersons of the new government.

The spokespersons later told the media that the Chief Minister had directed his ministers to declare their assets within the next fortnight and to avoid making statements in the public. (With IANS inputs)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard