Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 News

Amit Shah tears into ‘two shehzades’ over crime

"I have come to appeal to the people of western UP that you give an answer on the voting day by pushing the lotus button and we will give you a UP which is free of goondagardi," said Shah.

In UP, many wait for next poll gift: a smartphone 

The larger question, however, remains as to whether poll freebies have helped uplift people from the larger problems of poverty and unemployment that hobble the state.

Waiting, watching: Why Mayawati is first off the block

Away from SP drama and BJP theatre, BSP has been at work for two years in UP, turning around party units, wooing youth, refiguring old support bases and figuring out new media.

The father, the son and a spirit

Netaji may be old now, it is also said, but he hasn’t forgotten the names of people, or the way to their village — that is how he built the party, brick by brick.

Akhilesh Yadav-Rahul Gandhi bonhomie reflects in road show

The Rath moved along with hordes of Congress and SP workers who raised slogans and showered flower petals on the leaders amid the beating of drums and songs eulogising the two parties.

SP-Congress alliance will continue for 2019 Lok Sabha polls: Ghulam Nabi Azad

Azad said that they are asking all the secular parties to come together and fight the saffron party.

Yogi government orders Mukhtar Ansari’s transfer from Lucknow jail

Mukhtar has been lodged in jail since 2005.

Akhilesh Yadav, Dimple Yadav and Jaya Bachhan to campaign for SP in MCD polls

The party targets to field candidates on all 272 seats and Usha said, "our first list of candidates would be out soon".

SP fulfilled promises of people in Uttar Pradesh, yet lost polls: Mulayam Singh Yadav

Yadav said there was also a need to come out with a law to ensure that nobody remains hungry in the country.

After Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand orders closure of illegal abattoirs

Legal slaughterhouses, the order says, would be closed down if they are operating in contravention of rules.

Senior positions lie vacant at CMO

The chief minister’s office comprises the posts of principal secretary, special secretary and secretary.

Uttar Pradesh poll results proved critics wrong: Home Minister Rajnath Singh

Singh said when elections in the five states were going on, a number of political analysts were keeping a watch on political developments.