Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 01, 2021

UP, Gujarat By-Election Results highlights: BJP wins all 8 seats in Gujarat, 6 of 7 in UP

In Gujarat, the BJP's tally in the 182-member Assembly has now reached 111. In Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party won one seat.

By: Express Web Desk | Ahmedabad, Lucknow, New Delhi |
Updated: November 10, 2020 11:17:55 pm
Scenes from outside polytechnic college in Vadodara where counting of the fifth round of EVM is commencing on Tuesday. (Express Photo By Bhupendra Rana)

UP, Gujarat By-Election Results 2020 Highlights: In a clean sweep, the ruling BJP on Tuesday won all the eight assembly seats in Gujarat where by-elections were held, dealing a blow to the opposition Congress which had bagged these constituencies in 2017.

In Uttar Pradesh, the party won six of the seven seats that went to polls. One seat was won by the Samajwadi Party.  For the saffron party, Shrikant Katiyar won Bangermau, Usha Sirohi won Bulandshahr, Upendra Nath Paswan won Ghatampur,Manoj Kumar Singh won Malhani, Sangeeta Chauhan won Naugawan Sadat, and Prempal Singh Dhangar won Tundla. Barahamshankar Tripathi of the SP won Deoria.

In Gujarat, the BJP’s tally in the 182-member Assembly has now reached 111. Voting for the eight seats was held on November 3 and counting of ballots was taken up on Tuesday. The Congress, disappointed by the results, said they had expected voters will teach a lesson to party MLAs who resigned and switched sides.

Eight Congress MLAs had resigned before the Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat, and five of them, who were given tickets by the BJP, their new party, won on Tuesday. Despite switching sides, voters of their constituencies reposed faith in these five leaders and sent them to the Assembly.

They are Pradhyumansinh Jadeja (who won from Abdasa seat), Brjesh Merja (Morbi), Akshay Patel (Karjan), Jitu Chaudhari (Kaprada) and J V Kakadiya (Dhari).

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard