Saturday, Nov 26, 2022

Tripura West Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: BJP’s Pratima Bhoumik wins

Tripura West (Tripura) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Tripura West constituency election results.

Tripura West Election Results 2019: Tripura West went to polls on Thu, Apr 11, 2019 (Image Source:

Tripura West (Tripura) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: BJP’s Pratima Bhoumik wins against Congress’ Subal Bhowmik from the Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency which went to polls on April 11, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Sankar Prasad Datta of the CPM by a margin of 503486 votes. Sankar Prasad Datta defeated INC candidate Arunoday Saha.

Tripura had registered 84.67 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 64.1 %, Communist Party of India (Marxist) had topped the results tally with 2 seats, followed by Independent (0 seats) and Indian National Congress (0 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Essentials| Weekly news express with MCQs : National Suicide Prevent...Premium
Delhi Confidential: A ‘night sky sanctuary’ in Ladakh, India&...Premium
For minority voters in Gujarat, more of same on offer; ‘no enthusiasm’ ab...Premium
Constitution Day: A rare, enduring documentPremium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Tripura West Lok Sabha Elections Results.

First published on: 23-05-2019 at 12:30:00 am
Next Story

Dope testing lab’s delay allowed Gomathi Marimuthu to compete

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments