Follow Us:
Saturday, April 17, 2021

TMC changes candidate for Habibpur constituency seat

The TMC insisted that their decision to switch candidates in the Habibpur constituency was due to Sarla Murmu's "ill health".

Written by Atri Mitra | Kolkata |
March 8, 2021 12:25:47 pm
Tamonash Ghosh passes away, Tamonash Ghosh coronavirus, Mamata Banerjee, West bengal covid deaths, TMC MLA dies of covid,After the rally, Partha Chatterjee said, “It (Nandigram incident) is a planned conspiracy. We are here to condemn the attack on our leader Mamata Banerjee.”

Days after Trinamool Congress leader Sarala Murmu was fielded from the Habibpur constituency ahead of the upcoming West Bengal Assembly elections, the Mamata-Banerjee-led party has announced it will be replacing her in the constituency. The sudden switch comes amid rumours that Murmu is planning to quit the TMC to join the BJP after she was denied the seat she desired.  

However, the party has insisted that their decision was due to Murmu’s “ill health”. Pradip Bhasker has been named as the new candidate from the Habibpur seat.

“All India Trinamool Congress would like to inform that the candidate for Malda District’s Habibpur Assembly Constituency (No. 43) Sarala Murmu had to be replaced due to her ill health. Pradeep Baskey will be contesting the upcoming Assembly Elections from this constituency,” an official statement from the party read.

News of Murmu’s switch to the BJP comes as a fresh blow for the TMC, which has already lost half a dozen candidates who either resigned from the party or jumped ship after not getting a ticket from the party.
(With PTI inputs)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.