Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 29, 2022

After Trinamool cites rules, Swapan Dasgupta resigns from Rajya Sabha to fight Bengal polls

Swapan Dasgupta, a nominated member of Rajya Sabha, has been fielded by the BJP from Tarakeshwar Assembly constituency in West Bengal's Hooghly district.

Written by Liz Mathew | New Delhi |
Updated: March 16, 2021 7:51:22 pm
west bengal bjp, Election Commission, west bengal polls, west bengal voters, indian express newsSwapan Dasgupta

Swapan Dasgupta, a BJP candidate for the Bengal election, has resigned from the Rajya Sabha a day after the Trinamool Congress cited constitutional rules to say a nominated member of the Upper House could not join a political party. Dasgupta has been fielded by the BJP from the Tarakeshwar Assembly constituency in Hooghly district.

According to sources, Dasgupta, a nominated member of Rajya Sabha, has said his resignation should be taken into cognisance from Wednesday.

If a nominated member in the Rajya Sabha decides to take part in any political activity of a particular party, he would have to resign from the membership, sources in the Rajya Sabha secretariat said.

With the BJP declaring Dasgupta as a candidate, Trinamool Congress MP Mahua Moitra Monday called for his disqualification from the Upper House in accordance with the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India.

Moitra pointed out that the rules were clear that a nominated MP, considered to be unaffiliated to any party, could be disqualified if he joined a party. “A nominated member of a House shall be disqualified for being a member of the House if he joins any political party after the expiry of six months from the date on which he takes his seat after complying with the requirements of article 99, or, as the case may be, article 188,” Clause 3 of the Tenth Schedule that deals with the disqualification grounds states.

On Monday, Dasgupta had said he would respond to the TMC’s charge “appropriately’. “Right now, I am busy with election campaigning. If any letter comes to me from Rajya Sabha, then I will respond to it appropriately,” Dasgupta had said.

Best of Express Premium
Abroad, Jacinda Ardern is a star. At home, she is losing her shinePremium
Udaipur tailor killed: Victim sought police cover, pointed to threats aft...Premium
Explained: Speaker’s powers in a rebellionPremium
G7 is trying hard not to be yesterday’s clubPremium

Elections to the 294-member West Bengal Assembly will be conducted in eight phases between March 27 and April 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Express Subscription Do not hit the wall. Get an Express subscription to access our award-winning journalism.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard