Follow Us:
Friday, August 12, 2022

‘Janta maalik hai’: Rahul Gandhi concedes defeat, says will respect people’s mandate

When asked on fixing responsibility for the loss, Congress president Rahul Gandhi said, "This is between my party and I. Between me and the Congress CWC."

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: May 23, 2019 10:25:18 pm
Will Rahul Gandhi resign as Congress chief? Party working committee will decide, he says Congress president Rahul Gandhi addresses press (Source: INC)

Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Thursday congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP for its resounding victory in the Lok Sabha elections after results projected a humiliating defeat for the Congress, the second time in a row. Addressing the media, Gandhi said, “the janta (public) is the master and the master has made its decision.”

Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala said reports of Gandhi offering his resignation are incorrect. When asked on fixing responsibility for loss, Gandhi said, “This is between my party and I. Between me and the Congress CWC.”

Follow Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

When asked if he will resign as the party chief, Gandhi said the Congress Working Committee will meet soon and decide on the matter.

Rahul also conceded defeat in Congress bastion Amethi, from where he has been a three-time MP. Congratulating BJP’s Smriti Irani, Gandhi said he accepts the mandate of the people. In Uttar Pradesh, where Priyanka Gandhi Vadra was brought in to galvanise voters, the party has so far only been able to ascertain one seat- Rae Bareli-a Congress bastion and the constituency of UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi.

However, Rahul is set to win from Wayanad, from where he contested beside Amethi. Kerala is one of the few states where the Congress has claimed significant numbers of seats, with the Congress-led UDF leading in all 20 seats in the state.

In the Lok Sabha polls, the party is faced with a crushing defeat with the BJP taking its tally up to 300 seats. The elections, the first since Rahul Gandhi took the reigns of the party from Sonia Gandhi, was being seen as a litmus test for the functioning of the grand old party and its attempted alliance with other Opposition leaders.

Party leaders in private conceded that the Congress faltered by turning the campaign into a bitter battle against Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who anyway was itching to make the election a presidential contest between him and the undeclared opposition prime ministerial candidate.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-August 10, 11, and August 12, 2022: Why you should read ‘Euthana...Premium
Laal Singh Chaddha: A comfortable film for the obedient IndianPremium
What is border post 918 which provides shade to both India and Pakistan?Premium
Ravi Shankar Prasad: ‘(Nitish) is nothing on his own… He may be honest bu...Premium

The Congress is leading in 50 out of the 542 Lok Sabha seats, while the BJP is headed for a landslide victory with 302 seats.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 23-05-2019 at 06:20:53 pm

Featured Stories