Sunday, Jan 29, 2023

Mettur (Tamil Nadu) Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: Winner, Runner-up

Mettur (Tamil Nadu) Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: Get all the updates on Mettur assembly constituency election results on

Mettur Election Result, Mettur Election Result 2021, Tamil Nadu Election Result 2021, Tamil Nadu Mettur Election Result 2021Mettur Election Results 2021: There are 234 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.

Mettur (Tamil Nadu) Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: In the last assembly elections, the seat was won by SEMMALAI.S of the AIADMK. The 16th Tamil Nadu legislative assembly election was held in a single phase on April 6. The voter turnout stood at 72.78 per cent with people sealing the fate of nearly 4,000 candidates including that of AIADMK’s Edappadi K Palaniswami and DMK chief M K Stalin, the key contenders for power.

The ruling AIADMK is pinning its hopes on its government’s performance and poll assurances to retain power yet again. The ruling party snatched power from DMK in 2011 and retained power in 2016.

In Tamil Nadu, a state whose politics has revolved around personalities, this is the first election without either Karunanidhi or Jayalalithaa, two of its most towering leaders.

Actor Kamal Haasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM), launched in February 2018, is also contesting the assembly elections. Kamal’s party had a vote share of 3.72 per cent in the last Lok Sabha polls, which was significant as MNM was hardly 14 months old when it faced the polls.

Subscriber Only Stories
At the end of the Bharat Jodo Yatra
Why BharOS has Indian developers excited and sceptical: ‘More choice is g...
UPSC Essentials | Weekly news express with MCQs: Republic Day, India-Egyp...
As India prepares for centralised power market shift, EU moves a differen...

First published on: 01-05-2021 at 23:12 IST
Next Story

Edappadi (Tamil Nadu) Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: Winner, Runner-up

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments