Manipur Assembly Elections 2017 News

Irom and 2

Her battle against AFSPA was long and often lonesome. Her electoral debut is small and uneventful. But with volunteers by her side and public respect for her undiminished, Irom Sharmila’s fight is more than about seats.

Manipur ministry expanded with induction of three ministers

The function was also attended by former CM O Ibobi Singh and other top senior government officers.

V Hangkhalian sworn-in as Protem Speaker of Manipur Assembly

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, Deputy CM Y Joykumar and other top civil and police officers attended the swearing in ceremony.

Manipur: Congress accuses BJP of ‘manufactured majority’

C P Joshi questioned the role of the Governor in Manipur and accused her of playing into the hands of the ruling party.

Manipur: Biren Singh takes oath, forms first BJP government

The BJP has come to power after 15 years of Congress rule in Manipur that was led by Okram Ibobi Singh.

Manipur highlights: N Biren Singh takes oath as chief minister, ex-CM Ibobi Singh present

Manipur Highlights: Although the Congress emerged as the single largest party with 28 MLAs, the BJP, with 21 MLAs, claims to have the support of NPP (4), NPF (4), LJP (1), and three others.

N Biren Singh takes oath as Manipur’s first BJP chief minister, NPP MLA Joykumar is deputy CM

The BJP-led coalition in Manipur includes allies NPP, NPF, LJP and others.

Guv’s responsibility to see who has majority, will work for state’s stability: Najma Heptullah

She further said that the BJP-led group has been invited tomorrow to form the Government.

In Imphal, Biren gets call from Raj Bhavan to lead state

Since March 11, there has been high drama and political tussles over formation of the government in Manipur, with both the Congress and BJP claiming that they have the numbers.

Manipur election results 2017: Congress stint may have helped ex-footballer

Biren’s popularity with other MLAs may have swung the vote in his favour after a round of hectic lobbying between him and party favourite Bishwajit Singh.

Manipur results: “Irom Sharmila was not able to garner support in terms of electoral politics”

Earlier, in an interview with Indian Express, Irom Sharmila had said that that 'people would have voted for her but their right to vote has been occupied by money'.

N Biren Singh to be sworn in as chief minister of Manipur tomorrow

Union minister Piyush Goyal had confirmed his candidature as the CM of the state as well.