Follow Us:
Monday, June 21, 2021

West Bengal: 43 TMC members take oath in Mamata’s third cabinet

Out of the 43 candidates who were sworn in, 24 are full ministers, 19 are state ministers and 10 will be holding independent offices.

By: Express News Service | Kolkata |
Updated: May 11, 2021 2:14:24 am
TMC leaders being sworn-in as ministers in West Bengal cabinet on Monday. (ANI)

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday unveiled her new council of ministers as 43 Trinamool Congress (TMC) leaders were sworn in at a low-key ceremony in Raj Bhavan, Kolkata.

Banerjee retained key portfolios such as Home and Hill Affairs, Personnel and Administration, Health and Family Welfare, Land, Refugee and Rehabilitation, Information and Cultural Affairs, and North Bengal Development. She gave up Minority Affairs and Madrasah Education portfolios, which went to Mohammed Gulam Rabbani. Mitra remains the finance minister and will also head the Department of Planning and Statistics ad Programme Monitoring. Among other senior ministers, Subrata Mukherjee retained Panchayat and Rural Development department, and was given additional charge of Public Enterprises and Industrial Reconstruction; Firhad Hakim was appointed Minister of Transport, and Housing.

MoS (Independent charge) for Health, Chandrima Bhattacharya, took over Urban Development and Municipal Affairs department. Partha Chatterjee retained Parliamentary Affairs portfolio but was replaced as Education Minister by Bratya Basu.

Rathin Ghosh, one of the new ministers, got Food and Supplies portfolio. His predecessor — Jyotipriyo Mallick, during whose tenure the government faced a backlash over a ration scam — was appointed Minister of Forest. Mallick will also head the Non-Conventional and Renewable Energy Sources department. At the forest department, he will be assisted by Jhargram MLA and Santhali actor Birbaha Hansda.

Shashi Panja, the only womAn ministers (excluding the CM) to get a Cabinet rank, will continue as Women and Child Development and Social Welfare Minister. TMC Purba Medinipur district president Akhil Giri, another big name among new ministers, was made MoS for Fisheries (Independent charge). Former IPS officer Humayun Kabir will take charge of Technical Education, Training, and Skill Development.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.