Follow Us:
Sunday, July 03, 2022

Mamata Banerjee on election trends: All losers are not losers

The early election trend suggests that despite the aggressive campaign led by Banerjee against the BJP in the state, the saffron party has made deep inroads into the TMC bastion.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: May 23, 2019 10:21:10 pm
mamata banerjee, mamata banerjee on election results, west bengal election results, wb lok sabha election results, wb election result, ceo west bengal, west bengal election results, election, election results online, lok sabha election, lok sabha election results, election result live, election results, lok sabha election result 2019 West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee after casting her vote at Mitra Institution in Kolkata on Sunday. (Express photo by Partha Paul)

Congratulating the winners on the day of election results counting, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee Thursday said all losers are not losers and her party will share its view after the complete review of the results.

Taking to Twitter, Banerjee said, “Congratulations to the winners. But all losers are not losers. We have to do a complete review and then we will share our views with you all. Let the counting process be completed fully and the VVPATs matched.”

Follow West Bengal Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

As per the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) is leading over 22 seats in West Bengal while the BJP is leading on 19 seats. The early trends suggest that despite the aggressive campaign led by Banerjee against the BJP in the state, the saffron party has made deep inroads into the TMC bastion.

While the BJP is leading in Barrackpore, Bankura, Asansol, and Hooghly, the TMC is leading in Kolkata (Dakshin and Uttar), Birbhum, Jadavpur and Howrah.

Among the key candidates, Union Minister Babul Supriyo is leading from the Asansol seat where he has been pitted against actor and TMC candidate Moon Moon Sen. Mamata’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, on the other hand, is ahead of others by over 1 lakh votes.

Best of Express Premium
NITI Aayog-commissioned report which studied 3 orders by Supreme Court, 2...Premium
Tavleen Singh writes: Islamism has no place in IndiaPremium
‘The biggest problem is our dependence on imported energy, which is 4% of...Premium
A Letter From Silchar, Assam: Down a town, on a boat with a bodyPremium

In 2014, the TMC’s tally rose to 34 from 19 in 2009 while the Congress managed to win four. Both the Left Front and the BJP managed to secure only two seats, respectively.

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard