Follow Us:
Thursday, July 07, 2022

Mamata to move court over Nandigram verdict, says EC reversed result after formally announcing it

On Sunday, it was initially reported that Banerjee had won by a margin of 1,200 votes, but the returning officer subsequently announced Adhikari’s victory by 1,956 votes.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: May 3, 2021 10:06:56 pm
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee addresses media at her Kalighat residence in Kolkata on Sunday. (PTI Photo)

A day after leading Trinamool Congress to a historic victory in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee vowed to move court over the Nandigram result where she lost to her former protégé-turned-rival Suvendu Adhikari.

“How come the Election Commission reverse the Nandigram result after formally announcing it? We will move court,” said a miffed Banerjee.

Throughout Sunday, the contest in Nandigram, the most high-profile of the election, appeared to swing back and forth between Banerjee and Adhikari. It was initially reported that Banerjee had won by a margin of 1,200 votes, but the returning officer subsequently announced Adhikari’s victory by 1,956 votes.

TMC supporters celebrate near Mamata Banerjee’s residence in Kolkata on Sunday.

After the returning officer turned down its plea for an immediate recounting of the votes polled in Nandigram, the TMC wrote to the Chief Election Officer asking him to reconsider it.

Best of Express Premium
Newsmaker | Now in charge of UP health, Deputy CM Brajesh Pathak’s ...Premium
Bihar college teacher listens to ‘conscience’, returns 33-month salary ov...Premium
New car insurance plan: Premium based on usage, driving behaviourPremium
UPSC Key-July 6, 2022: Why to read ‘Social Media Intermediaries’ or ‘Hybr...Premium

“I received an SMS from someone wherein returning officer of Nandigram has written to someone if he allows recounting then his life would be under threat. For four hours server was down, the Governor also congratulated me. Suddenly everything changed,” she complained.

Banerjee further said that this is the first time that a prime minister did not call her to congratulate her after winning the Assembly elections.

Amid reports of violence following TMC’s victory, she urged her supporters to maintain peace. “I appeal to everyone to maintain peace and not indulge in any violence. We know BJP and central forces have tortured us a lot but we have to maintain peace. At present, we have fight Covid-19,” she said.

Trinamool Congress workers celebrating their win near Mamata Banerjee’s residence in Kolkata on Sunday.

Banerjee met West Bengal Governor Jagddep Dhankhar in the evening and submitted her resignation as the Chief Minister of Bengal. “CM Mamata Banerjee called on me and submitted her resignation as CM and the same has been accepted. She has been requested to continue till alternative arrangements are made,” Dhankhar said after the meeting.

Banerjee, who has been unanimously elected as the legislative party leader, will be sworn in as the chief minister of West Bengal for a third term on May 5, TMC announced. “The newly-elected (legislative) members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6,” TMC secretary-general Partha Chatterjee told reporters at the party headquarters after the meeting of the legislators.

According to the final results announced by the Election Commission, the TMC romped home in West Bengal, pocketing 213 of the 292 assembly seats that went to polls and secured a third straight term in office. The Mamata Banerjee-led party’s main challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats, while the ISF, which contested with the symbol of the Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party, and an Independent, managed one seat each.

With inputs from PTI and ANI

Express Explained Go beyond the news. Understand the headlines with our Explained stories

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard