Friday, Dec 09, 2022

Election Result LIVE


Machilipatnam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: Winner, Runner-up

Machilipatnam (Andhra Pradesh) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Machilipatnam constituency election results.

Machilipatnam Election Results 2019: Machilipatnam went to polls on Thu, Apr 11, 2019 (Image Source:

Machilipatnam (Andhra Pradesh) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: The Machilipatnam Lok Sabha constituency went to polls on Thu, Apr 11, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Konakalla Narayana Rao of the TDP by a margin of 81057 votes. Konakalla Narayana Rao defeated YSRCP candidate Kolusu Partha Sarathy.

Andhra Pradesh had registered 78.84 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 49.99 %, Telugu Desam had topped the results tally with 16 seats, followed by Telangana Rashtra Samithi (11 seats) and Others (10 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Despite tumultuous relationship, Mamata is first to c...Premium
The new Gujarat House: 105 fresh faces, 14 women legislators, 1 Muslim; 7...Premium
Pratibha Singh throws hints, old dilemma for Congress: too many CM aspira...Premium
Behind surge in Gujarat: Modi 2022, Modi 2024, missing CongressPremium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Machilipatnam Lok Sabha Elections Results.

First published on: 23-05-2019 at 07:31:00 am
Next Story

Vijayawada Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: Winner, Runner-up

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments