Lok Sabha Elections 2019, 10 points: Violence reported in West Bengal’s Raiganj constituency, at least three detainedhttps://indianexpress.com/elections/lok-sabha-elections-2019-second-phase-all-you-need-to-know-5681521/

Lok Sabha Elections 2019, 10 points: Violence reported in West Bengal’s Raiganj constituency, at least three detained

Polling began at 7.00 am and will commence by 6.00 pm in most constituencies. However, timings vary for the North-Eastern states and areas affected by Left-wing extremism.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019, 10 points: Violence reported in West Bengal's Raiganj constituency, at least three detained
People cast their vote at an election centre in Aligarh. (Express Photo by Amit Mehra)

The second phase of voting in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections ended Thursday which witnessed 95 constituencies spread across 12 states and one Union Territory go to polls. Polling began at 7 am concluded around 6 pm in most constituencies.

Here are the top 10 points that you need to know

1) The second phase saw a turnout of 61.12 voters exercising their franchise. West Bengal recorded the highest voter turnout at 75.27 per cent whereas Jammu & Kashmir recorded the lowest with 43.37 per cent.

2) In the southern state of Tamil Nadu, DMK president MK Stalin, DMK Lok Sabha candidate from Thoothukudi, Kanimozhi, Makkal Needhi Maiam chief Kamal Haasan and daughter Shruti Haasan, and actor Rajinikanth were among the ones who cast their votes in their respective polling booths. In Karnataka, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda along with his wife, and Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, were among the people who cast their votes.

3) There were reports of violence in north Bengal’s Islampur in which CPM candidate Md Salim’s vehicle was attacked allegedly by miscreants. Other incidents of violence came in from Raiganj constituency in West Bengal, news agency PTI reported quoting Election Commission sources said. As per the reports, a reporter and a camera person of a local news channel were allegedly manhandled when they went to cover the polling in the constituency.


4) The 12 states which are voting today are Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. Puducherry is the sole Union Territory that is voting in this phase. Apart from the Lok Sabha, simultaneous voting is also underway for 35 assembly constituencies in Odisha and 18 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.

5) The Election Commission had earlier canceled polling in Vellore, which was to go to polls today, after DMK candidate and party treasure Duraimurugan’s son Kathir Anand’s home was raided and a huge amount of cash was seized. And polling in East Tripura constituency was deferred from today to April 23 over security concerns by the Election Commission.

6) Tamil Nadu will see voting in 38 out of the 39 seats. In Karnataka, out of the 38 constituencies, only 14 are going to polls. In Maharashtra, 10 of the 48 seats will see voting, while in Uttar Pradesh, only 8 will vote in this phase. In Bihar, out of total 40 seats, only 5 seats are going to polls.

Follow LIVE updates

7) Among the high profile candidates in fray are Union ministers Jitendra Singh, Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan, former prime minister H D Deve Gowda and DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and Kanimozhi, BJP’s Hema Malini and Tejaswi Surya, and Congress’ Sushil Kumar Shinde and Karti Chidambaram.

8) Total voter turnout for Assam was pegged at 73.32 per cent, Bihar witnessed 59.14 per cent, Chhattisgarh at 69.70 per cent, Maharashtra at 55.37 per cent, Manipur at 74.69 per cent, Odisha saw a turnout of  57.41 per cent, Puducherry- 72.40 per cent, Tamil Nadu- 61.52 per cent, Uttar Pradesh- 58.12 per cent.

9) Two villages in Maharashtra’s Osmanabad district boycotted voting as the villagers felt that the government has not paid heed to their demands and the issues have remained unresolved so far. Residents of Jejala village in Bhum tehsil and Dhanegaon village in Tuljapur boycotted voting.

10) In Jammu and Kashmir, former chief ministers Omar Abdullah and Farooq Abdullah cast their vote in Srinagar. Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah, son Yathindra also cast their vote at a polling booth in Mysuru. The youngest BJP candidate Tejashwi Surya cast his vote from Bengaluru South and nominated people to vote.