Lok Sabha Elections: BJP releases third list of 36 candidates, Sambit Patra to contest from Purihttps://indianexpress.com/elections/lok-sabha-elections-2019-bjp-releases-second-list-of-candidates-sambit-patra-to-contest-from-puri-5639047/

Lok Sabha Elections: BJP releases third list of 36 candidates, Sambit Patra to contest from Puri

Lok Sabha elections 2019: BJP's third list includes 23 nominees from Andhra Pradesh, six from Maharashtra and five from Odisha and one each from Assam and Meghalaya.

Lok Sabha elections 2019: BJP releases second list of candidates, Sambit Patra to contest from Puri
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP National President Amit Shah during the BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, at BJP headquarters in New Delhi, Friday. (PTI Photo)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its third list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections a little past midnight Friday. The list contains 36 names from five states — Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Assam and Meghalaya.

Ahead of the multi-phased polls, 23 candidates have been announced for Andhra Pradesh — the state goes to polls in the first phase on April 11 — six candidates for Maharashtra, five for Odisha and one candidate each for Assam and Meghalaya.

BJP national spokesperson Sambit Patra will contest the elections from Puri parliamentary constituency in Odisha.

In the party’s second list, also released on Friday night, one candidate (Lalubhai Patel) has been announced for the seat from Daman and Diu. The UT votes in the third phase of the polls on April 23.


BJP’s third candidate list for 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

The saffron party had released its first list of 184 candidates on Thursday which confirmed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will seek re-election from Varanasi, his parliamentary seat. The list also said that BJP chief Amit Shah will contest the Lok Sabha elections for the first time from Gandhinagar, where LK Advani is the sitting MP.

In the first list, 16 candidates are from Maharashtra, eight from Assam, two from Arunachal Pradesh, five from Chhatisgarh and Jammu and Kashmir each, 21 from Karnataka, 13 from Kerala, 10 from Odisha, 16 from Rajasthan, five from Tamil Nadu, 10 from Telangana, five from Uttarakhand, 28 from West Bengal and two from Andhra Pradesh.

Click here for more election news