Follow Us:
Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Lok Sabha polls: Amit Shah replaces Advani to contest from Gandhinagar seat

The Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat was won by L K Advani six times since 1991, barring the 1996 Lok Sabha polls.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 21, 2019 11:53:50 pm
Lok Sabha elections 2019: Amit Shah replaces Advani to contest from Gandhinagar seat Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and BJP senior leader LK Advani (File/Express Photo By Amit Mehra)

BJP president Amit Shah will contest the Lok Sabha elections for the first time from Gandhinagar, where party veteran LK Advani is a sitting MP, the party’s first list of candidates for the upcoming polls revealed. Gujarat goes to poll on April 23.

Shah was earlier an MLA from Sarkhej seat, which is also a part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency. The Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat was won by L K Advani six times since 1991, barring the 1996 Lok Sabha polls.  Click here for more election stories

Watch: BJP holds discussion on LS seats in UP, WB at CEC meeting

The BJP Thursday released its first list of 184 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The party fielded Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi constituency. Senior party leader J P Nadda told a press conference that the party also decided to field Home Minister Rajnath Singh from Lucknow and another Union minister Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur. Both leaders had won from these seats in the last general election.

1st PRESS RELEASE of Lok Sabha Election 2019 on 21.03.2019 by The Indian Express on Scribd

Union Minister Smriti Irani has been renominated from Amethi and will take on Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Union minister Kiren Rijiju to fight from Arunachal East. The BJP has also renominated Union ministers V K Singh and Mahesh Shamra from Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddha Nagar (Noida), respectively.


Amit Shah underlines power shift in BJP

Amit Shah’s decision to not contest 2017 Gujarat Assembly elections and his entry to Rajya Sabha was a clear signal inside the party that he is no longer interested in state politics. The decision to contest Lok Sabha is a signal of his larger ambition in national politics. It also marks the end of the electoral career of party veteran L K Advani and heralds the rising grip of the third generation of party leaders in the BJP.

The BJP announced its candidates from many states, including Uttar Prdesh, Uttarakhand, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura.

The BJP has finalised names of all 17 party candidates from Bihar and sent the list to the state unit which will announce it jointly with allies, Nadda said.

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23.

The polling will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 for 543 Lok Sabha seats across the country in which nearly 90 crore voters would be eligible to vote.

(Inputs from PTI)

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App