Sunday, Oct 02, 2022

Keonjhar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: Winner, Runner-up

Keonjhar (Odisha) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Keonjhar constituency election results.

Keonjhar Election Results 2019: Keonjhar went to polls on Tue, Apr 23, 2019 (Image Source:

Keonjhar (Odisha) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: The Keonjhar Lok Sabha constituency went to polls on Tue, Apr 23, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Sakuntala Laguri of the BJD by a margin of 157317 votes. Sakuntala Laguri defeated BJP candidate Ananta Nayak.

Odisha had registered 73.53 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 45.22 %, Biju Janata Dal had topped the results tally with 20 seats, followed by Bharatiya Janata Party (1 seats) and Communist Party of India (0 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Subscriber Only Stories
Uttarakhand resort murder: Amid questions within, BJP may revamp Dhami go...Premium
From suicide to graft: After power shift in Mumbai, key cases go on the b...Premium
Who are the social leaders from Maharashtra holding up Mahatma Gandhi’s l...Premium
Banned: How PFI morphed into a stridently militant outfit over 3 decadesPremium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Keonjhar Lok Sabha Elections Results.

First published on: 23-05-2019 at 03:00:00 am
Next Story

Maharashtra: Day before results, senior NCP leader Kshirsagar joins Shiv Sena

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments