Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 02, 2020

Karnataka Election Results 2018 Top Candidates, Key Constituencies: Siddaramaiah loses Chamundeshwari, wins Badami

Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018 Top Candidates Key Constituency LIVE UPDATES: BJP CM candidate B S Yeddyurappa won Shikaripura seat by a margin of over 35,000 votes, while CM Siddaramaiah defeated BJP rival Sreeramulu in Badami by over 1,600 votes.

Written by Vishnu Varma , Manoj Kumar, Curated by Shreyasi Jha | New Delhi/bengaluru | Updated: May 16, 2018 6:38:19 am
LIVE Karnataka Election Results 2018 Top Candidates Key Constituency: Karnataka Election Poll Results 2018: A clutch of exit polls have predicted that the hotly-contested polls will likely to go down to the wire, with a neck and neck race between the state’s ruling Congress and challenger BJP.

Karnataka Election Results 2018 LIVE:  Karnataka plunged into uncertainty and the spotlight turned on the Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru after no single party crossed the half-way mark in the state assembly elections, the results of which was a roller-coaster ride much of Tuesday. The BJP with 104 seats and eight short of a simple majority emerged as the single largest party but the Congress, in the second position with 78 seats, moved quickly to extend support to JD(S) which, with 38 seats, staked claim to form the government.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah told reporters after a meeting with central Congress leaders, including Gulam Nabi Azad, that the party will back the JD(S) in forming the government. However, it was not yet clear if the Congress would extend support from outside or be part of the new government. “We have decided that the Congress will extend support to the JD(S) to form the government. That’s the best way to keep the BJP out (of power),” Siddaramaiah said.

Two of the seats, RR Nagar and Jayanagar, will see repoll on May 28.  Follow Karnataka Election Results 2018 LIVE

Live Blog

Follow live coverage on Karnataka election results 2018 here. We bring you fastest and real-time updates in Malayalam, Tamil and Bangla

16:09 (IST)15 May 2018
CM Siddaramaiah loses Chamundeshwari, wins Badami

Congress leader and Karnataka CM  Siddaramaiah suffered a defeat in Chamundeshwati constituency against his JD(S) rival G T Deve Gowda. In Badami, Siddaramaiah managed to defeat his nearest BJP rival B Sreeramulu by over 1,600 votes in a see-saw contest.

16:00 (IST)15 May 2018
Going by latest figures, Congress, JD(S) can together end up with 116 seats

Presently, the Congress has won 43 of the 222 seats polling for which was held, while it is leading in 35 seats. The JD(S) has won 18 seats and its candidates are ahead of their rivals in 19 seats. If the number of seats the two parties have won and where they are leading is taken into account, they could together end up with 116 seats, four more than the magic figure of 112.

On the other hand, the BJP has won 75 seats and is leading in 29, a total of 104. Two of the seats, RR Nagar and Jayanagar, will see repoll on May 28.

15:56 (IST)15 May 2018

Karnataka looks to be heading towards a hung Assembly as BJP is likely to fall short of majority in the hotly-contested assembly elections. In a surprise turn of events, the Congress announced that it will extend support to the JD(S) in forming the next government in the southern state.

14:50 (IST)15 May 2018

CM Siddaramaiah to meet the Governor of Karnataka at 4 pm today

14:43 (IST)15 May 2018
14:26 (IST)15 May 2018

Many Congress people have won the election, you cannot write-off the Congress. It is, maybe, a set back for Congress, we will find out what is the cause of the setback: Karnataka Minister KJ George said.

14:20 (IST)15 May 2018

At 2:19 pm-



JD(S)- 4

Others -1

14:05 (IST)15 May 2018
JD(S) holds on to Mandya

Here are some interesting district trends. The JD(S) has managed to keep a grip on Mandya, one of its strongholds. The party is leading in all seven constituency seats, Malavalli, Maddur, Melukote, Mandya, Shrirangapattana, Nagamangala and Krishnarajpet.

14:04 (IST)15 May 2018
Here's the list of winners

As news of the winners comes in, we're compiling the list here. This will be updated through the day, so stay tuned! Karnataka assembly election results 2018: Full list of winners

14:03 (IST)15 May 2018
Reddy brothers lead in Bellary City

Leads show BJP candidates G Somasekhara Reddy and G Karunakara Reddy comfortably winning Bellary City and Harapanahalli respectively. Somasekhara is leading by nearly 10,000 votes over Congress candidate Anil Lad, also a mining baron. Karunakara is up over 5,000 votes over Congress' Ravindra.

14:01 (IST)15 May 2018
BJP's B S Yeddyurappa wins from Shikharipura

B S Yeddyurappa wins from Shikharipura. He defeats Congress' Goni Malatesha by 35,397 votes. Yeddyurappa got 86,983 votes while Malatesha got 51,586  votes.

14:00 (IST)15 May 2018

At 1:58 pm:





13:59 (IST)15 May 2018
13:37 (IST)15 May 2018

Results of 23 seats have declared of which BJP has won 17 seats, Congress four, JD(S)-1 and others-1.

13:15 (IST)15 May 2018

As of now, BJP has won eleven seats and Congress has won two seats retaining Mangalore.

12:54 (IST)15 May 2018
BJP wins third seat

BJP's Anand Vishwanath won the Saundatti Yellamma seat with 62,480 votes defeating an Independent candidate Anand Chopra who got 56,189 votes.

12:49 (IST)15 May 2018
Congress wins Mangalore

U T Abdul Khader of Indian National Congress won Mangalore seat with  80813 votes defeating BJP's Santhosh Kumar Rai Boliyaru who got 61074 votes. See the details below:

12:30 (IST)15 May 2018
BJP wins Sullia, Mudigere seats

The BJP has won two seats, Mudigere and Sullia. MP Kumarasamy has defeated Motamma by a margin of 12,512 votes from Mudigere. Angara S has defeated Dr B Raghu by 26,068 votes.

12:28 (IST)15 May 2018

Here is the candidate-wise and party-wise vote share in Ramanagaram, from where JD(S) HD Kumaraswamy contested:

12:20 (IST)15 May 2018

Here is the candidate-wise and party-wise vote share in Shikaripura, from where BS Yediyurappa is contesting:

LIVE Karnataka Election Results 2018 Top Candidates Key Constituencies: Will CM faces win their seats? Karnataka Election Poll Results 2018: BS Yeddyurappa, who is contesting from Shikaripura. Siddaramaiah is taking on BJP's B Sriramulu in Badami constituency.

In one of the most hard-hitting campaigning in recent times, 222 of the 224 seats went to polls on May 12. Polling for R R Nagar seat was deferred following alleged electoral malpractices, while it was countermanded in Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate. A total of 2,636 candidates are in the fray. Heavyweight candidates include BJP chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa, who is contesting from Shikaripura against Congress’ G B Malatesha. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is taking on BJP's B Sriramulu, Janardhan Reddy's close aide and sitting lawmaker, in Badami constituency. The CM is also contesting from Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru. JD(S) chief and former CM H D Kumaraswamy is contesting from Ramanagara and the neighbouring Channapatna constituencies.

Follow The Indian Express Coverage on Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018. For live coverage, live expert analysis and real-time interactive map, log on to