Follow Us:
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Kalyan Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: Winner, Runner-up

Kalyan (Maharashtra) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Kalyan constituency election results.

By: Election Desk | Mumbai |
Updated: May 23, 2019 12:50:18 pm
Kalyan Election Results 2019: Kalyan went to polls on Mon, Apr 29, 2019 (Image Source:

Kalyan (Maharashtra) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: The Kalyan Lok Sabha constituency went to polls on Mon, Apr 29, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Dr.shrikant Eknath Shinde of the SHS by a margin of 250749 votes. Dr.shrikant Eknath Shinde defeated NCP candidate Anand Prakash Paranjpe.

Maharashtra had registered 60.73 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 53.13 %, Bharatiya Janata Party had topped the results tally with 23 seats, followed by Shivsena (18 seats) and Nationalist Congress Party (4 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Best of Express Premium
Efforts to estimate poverty from 2011-21 are commendable, given absence o...Premium
Uddhav Thackeray: The reluctant politician who in the end hung on to chai...Premium
Udaipur killers and Da’wat-e-Islami: the group, its ideology and its growthPremium
UPSC Key-June 29, 2022: Why to read ‘Dumping’ or ‘Gulabi Meenakari’ or ‘H...Premium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Kalyan Lok Sabha Elections Results.

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard