Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 News

BJP signals generation shift in Himachal Pradesh, picks Jai Ram Thakur as Chief Minister

Thakur, known as a “gentle leader” who has always shunned the limelight, was thrust into the frontrunner slot after the surprise loss of BJP chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal in the Assembly elections.

Jairam Thakur is next Himachal Pradesh CM, swearing-in on Dec 27

Jairam Thakur's name was the only one considered by the BJP Legislature Party meeting, following a brief from BJP president Amit Shah

Jairam Thakur is Himachal Pradesh CM

Prem Kumar Dhumal, who lost the election in Sujanpur, has proposed Jairam Thakur's name at the BJP legislature party meeting and it was supported by Union Minister J P Nadda.

Confusion, chaos in Shimla: Dhumal, Jairam slogans give BJP observers a headache

Supporters of Prem Kumar Dhumal, the CM candidate who lost from Sujanpur after shifting from Hamirpur, are not prepared to give up their claim to power. Five-term MLA Jairam Thakur, on the other hand, has emerged front-runner for the post.

No word yet on Himachal CM pick, BJP observers return to Delhi

Sloganeering in favour of Prem Kumar Dhumal and counter-slogans by those backing candidature Jairam Thakur was witnessed even as consultations were underway.

Governance was not as per expectation: Himachal Cong chief counters Virbhadra

The BJP won 44 seats in the state, reducing the Congress to just 21 in the 68-member state Assembly.

Rakesh Singha to be first Himachal CPM MLA in 24 years: From student leader to convict to rights champion

Singha began his political career as a student leader in Himachal Pradesh University. His involvement in a murder case during his university days in 1978, and conviction in 1987, is what Singha believes put him through a hard test

Assembly Election 2017: Ready for any party assignment, says Himachal CM front-runner Jairam Thakur

Thakur won consecutive elections from Chachiot in 2003 and 2007 by big margins, before the constituency became Seraj. In 2012, he defeated Congress’s Tara Thakur by over 5,700 votes

Central BJP team in Shimla today as CM race hots up

Elected for the fifth time, Jairam was party’s state president when BJP returned to power in 1998.

Himachal Pradesh: 30 MLAs have criminal cases, shows ADR data

Party wise, two out of the 21 Congress MLAs and 18 out of 44 BJP MLAs have criminal cases pending against them, besides one CPM MLA and one Independent.

Day after results, Governor accepts Virbhadra Singh’s resignation

A Raj Bhawan spokesman said Governor had accepted his resignation and asked him to continue till the new government takes charge.

Those who couldn’t keep up connect with constituencies faced defeat: Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, president of the Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC), who won from Naduan Assembly constituency under Hamirpur district tells The Indian Express about why the party could not repeat their government despite exuding confidence before the Assembly election.